More Ravioli and Rain - August 9, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Receipt bags crop August 2024.jpg

On Friday morning I was up at 5:15AM. I’d finished the bills/budget on Thursday and written my post. So I got it up and decided to start another half finished project: updating the amendment order information.

Amendment orders - updating crop August 2024.jpg

After looking through the report, the last time I’d done it was 2019, so it seriously needed updating. So I went to the attic to get the sorted receipts I’d need to do it.

I double checked 2019 and then moved onto 2020 but it was getting onto 7AM and I had to clean the kitchen and set up for making zucchini ravioli. My helper friend would be here at 8AM to do this.

I went out to the Small garden to see if there were more zucchini and found one. There were 2 summer squashes but one was too old. I also noticed my cantaloupe was ripe but when I picked it, something had started on it first.

Zucchini ravioli - another round crop August 2024.jpg

I got the vegs cleaned up and ready and the paper towels laid out. He got the spaghetti sauce from the root cellar when he arrived, then went out and cut some garlic that was hanging in the shed. Then he went to the Big garden and picked a bowl of basil.

He did the zucchini while I made the filling and sauce and peeled lots of garlic. I had to go out for more. It’s not cured much since being hung up. I guess it’s just too humid. I hope the humidity abates soon as the onions are coming along and they need to hang to cure too.

We got the pans in the oven just after 10:30AM.

Basil pesto - 1 cup crop August 2024.jpg

There was a lot of basil and garlic leftover so he wanted to make a batch of pesto. There were just enough of both to make 1 batch. I sent him to the store to get more pine nuts as my brother and I are to make more pesto on Sunday morning and I didn’t think we had enough.

Wind blowing curtains crop August 2024.jpg

It rained off and on all day and when it wasn’t raining the wind was blowing pretty hard. I haven’t figured out all the settings on the new camera. I needed a flash on setting and couldn’t figure it out. So this poor photo is what I got of the curtain blowing straight out from the wind.

Once the mess was cleaned up and he was back from the store, I sat down to rest and have lunch. After he left I went to bed but couldn’t sleep so got up after an hour.

Zucchini ravioli - 7 meals crop August 2024.jpg

The pans had cooled so I got the ravioli into containers and froze them. I got 7 meals. The summer squash was supper along with some salmon.

On Saturday it’s to clear up and turn hot and humid. I should go out early and do a garden, but I think I will stay inside and finish the amendment orders project.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center