Improving - November 2, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb - heavy frost crop Nov. 2023.jpg

Well, it definitely got cold on Wednesday night. This is what greeted me on my way to the barn.

Walkway - frosted creeping thyme crop Nov. 2023.jpg

The creeping thyme along the walkway was lovely. Each little green leaf was outlined in frost crystals.

Frosted pumpkin crop Nov. 2023.jpg

The pumpkins were all frost covered too.

Frost in morning crop Nov. 2023.jpg

Once back from the barn, I used what energy I had left to get some photos.

New Herb - heavy frost close-up crop Nov. 2023.jpg

The frost on Tulsi basil and some other herbs

New Herb - Row 2, frosted chicory crop Nov. 2023.jpg

In Row 2, the chicory flowers were frost highlighted. Each leaf had crystals along it.

New Herb - Row 6, frosted calendula crop Nov. 2023.jpg

In Row 6, the calendula flowers were so lovely.

Third Fence - frosted catnip crop Nov. 2023.jpg

In the 3rd Fence garden, the catnip was fascinating with the frost on it. This camera didn’t capture that though.

Moonset crop Nov. 2023.jpg

But it did capture a nice shot of the moonset in the west.

Over the course of the day, I managed to finish loading the dishwasher (started on Saturday) and set all the dishes left to soak. Then I rested until my son was ready to do his jobs.

Small garden - cabbage uncovered2 crop Nov. 2023.jpg

I forgot, I did go out around 9:30AM and pull the tarp off the cabbages. They looked ok.

Hoses in sun crop Nov. 2023.jpg

I also made sure all the hoses were in sun so they would thaw out.

My son and I went out at 2:30PM and got them drained and coiled and in the garden shed. He helped me put the tarp back on the cabbages as it’s to be 28F on Thursday night.

Pothos cuttings in sun crop Nov. 2023.jpg

Pothos cuttings in late afternoon sun

Around 5PM I got both stoves going and then pulled the shades. I am dreading the time change Sunday. The cats aren’t going to be happy either as meal times will change.

Overall, I was doing better on Thursday, not as weak and able to eat small meals. The dizziness seems to have abated. I plan to test on Friday to see if I am still contagious.

I’m hoping I can get the dishes done at least. There’s also this week’s laundry to do. I hope I can at least start it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center