I Finally Got Started - January 10, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Start of skating rink1 crop Jan. 2024.jpg

I went to the barn to do chores and this is a shot of the driveway up there. The ice has started. And a small amount of flooding on the upper right side of the photo.

Middle pasture - fog rising crop Jan. 2024.jpg

Fog rising out of the middle pasture

It’s to rain on Saturday and then the temperature plummets into the upper 20’s in the day and low teens in the night. Skating rink!

Mud and flood crop Jan. 2024.jpg

At the house, everywhere we shoveled is mud. And the flooding has started down by the Small garden.

Mud and flood2 crop Jan. 2024.jpg

The front pasture has extensive flooded areas now. It will be a nice skating rink after Saturday. Glad we don’t have to get to the wood behind the shed…

Hot cocoa and Christmas at Fairacre crop Jan. 2024.jpg

Back inside I got the laundry finished, a load of dishes in the dishwasher, and a shower. Then I sat down for a cup of cocoa. Reading the Miss Read books made me want one. I have to make mine with coconut milk and a dash of raw cream. I use extra dark cocoa, vanilla, and organic sugar.

Starting candles crop Jan. 2024.jpg

After lunch time I got the empty candle box upstairs and all the candles down and put away neatly.

Candles - as far as I got crop Jan. 2024.jpg

I left the box at the head of the stairs for my son to bring down. Once he had, I started taking down candles on the first floor. But it was late afternoon and I soon ran out of energy, so my kitchen table looks like this.

I called a friend to take me shopping and on errands on Thursday morning so I expect that will wipe me out.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now