Garlic Scape Pickles - June 20, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Garlic scape pickles2 crop June 2019.jpg

Yesterday, once I had emptied the dehydrators (got a whole ½ gallon of peppermint, so that’s finished) and gotten my morning chores done, I crashed and burned.

I’d done far too much the previous 2 days and I knew I could not weed in the Big garden. Not wanting to be a totally useless article, I cast around for something easier to do.

Garlic scapes - prepping for pickles crop June 2019.jpg

I had the big bowl of scapes in the fridge and decided to try to make the pickles. Because they had been sitting for a couple days in there, covered even, the ends had dried out. Scapes are tough things at the best of times, when harvested a little too big. And these had been. So I sat and snipped off the tough ends. I ended up with about 3¼ lbs of scapes.

Here’s a post I made a while back about making the pickles:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@goldenoakfarm/making-garlic-scape-pickles

I managed to make it through getting them into the jars and cleanup while I waited for them to process. But then I was finished for the day, by 10:30AM, and lay on the couch reading and watching movies and resting.

Freezer inventory5 crop June 2018.jpg

Today my helper friend and I will inventory and organize the 5 freezers. I am hoping to shut one down, at least. I do this every June so I will know what I have left to use, what I have used, and what I need to preserve. We may also work in the root cellar, as I have onions needing attention, and there’s some things to inventory in there too.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now