Freezing Broccoli - October 5, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Box of broccoli crop Oct. 2020.jpg

I had planted 4 broccoli plants but it would not be enough for a year. So I ordered a 25# box from our farm store Market Share. It was beautiful broccoli, organic, and I only found 1 cabbage worm and a few tiny spots of fungus.

Broccoli  cutting up crop Oct. 2020.jpg

I decided, being organic, a one hour soak would not hurt, so I cut it up and did that. Just about this time the sheetrock arrived and I divided my time between broccoli and watching them unload.

Broccoli  ready to blanch1 crop Oct. 2020.jpg

Then I did batches of 3 minute blanching and right into ice water. I use the pint and a half freezer boxes for broccoli for a meal.

Broccoli  18 meals crop Oct. 2020.jpg

I ended up with 19 of them from this box of broccoli, saving one out for supper.

Tuesday my helper friend is here and we will be working in the Big garden finishing mulching the garlic. Then we will move onto the Small garden and prep for planting there.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center