Fishing and My Lazy Day - December 27, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

David with pollock2 crop Sept. 09.jpg
Fishing for pollock in September 2009

My husband went fishing on Friday. It was not one of his better trips. The forecast was to be ok going out, but getting rough coming back in. He fishes 30 miles off shore from Seabrook, NH.

But the drive out was late getting started and he missed getting his good spots on the boat. The trip out on the boat was not at all like the above photo, the sea was already high. He showed me a video someone took of the boat traveling, and it was enough to make me seasick watching it.

He didn’t get sick, one of the few. He got some pollock, and a single little redfish. He was home by 5PM, as the boat came back early.

Layers at feeder1 crop June 2019.jpg
The layer flock of June 2019

My day wasn’t much better. I got up shortly after he left and tried to sort out the Christmas bills. I cleaned up the kitchen and set out to go do the farm chores. The old car’s battery was dead. So I had to walk up carrying all the stuff.

I discovered the coop needed bedding badly, even though it had been done a week ago, so I did that. I finished the chores and got the truck with the plow on it and drove back to the house.

My helper friend was here and made me a beef soup for lunch and supper. It smelled heavenly when he was making it in the pressure cooker. But he left before the cooker could be opened, and something had gone wrong. It smelled funny and didn’t taste much better. This is the first thing I’ve ever had he’s made that I didn’t like.

Dennis2 crop Jan. 2019.jpg
Dennis the Girl in January 2019

Once I’d finished with that mess, I just laid on the couch and watched movies the rest of the day until I had to go do farm chores at 4PM. I actually got to pat Dennis the Girl in her hay box for about 30 seconds when I got up there.

We got a Christmas card from our very first WWOOFer! That was a lovely surprise. I think he may have been our favorite one, but perhaps it was because he was our first. We’ve had a couple others we really liked, but he’s the one we speak of most often.

So an unproductive day off on Friday.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center