Finding Mulch for the Gardens - October 3, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Mulch hay  50 more bales crop Oct. 2020.jpg

I did something I’ve not done before: bought mulch hay. In the past I scavenged from area barns and farms. But with my husband’s back so bad, that wasn’t an option this year.

So I resorted to Craigslist and found the best deal going. Someone up on Horse Mountain, a Christmas tree farm, was offering around 250 bales for $2.50/bale. Almost all mulch offered is at least $3/bale and the other local listings were $3.50.

So I contacted them immediately and they still had some. So I asked for 50 bales as I had no idea what I was getting. I also asked for a large lot discount and was granted it: $2.25/bale.

Next I got one of the young men who helped us on Thursday to help load and unload the truck and off we went. It was really great mulch hay, being sold due to sticks and briers. But it was second cut and will be really easy to work with.

So when we’d finished, I talked it over with my husband and helper and we decided to get the entire amount. My helper said he had a hitch on his truck that could pull the hay wagons it was in, so I called and told them I wanted what was left. I asked if we could bring the wagons here or perhaps, they could bring the wagons here. They said they would shuttle the wagons here.

I, of course, asked for another discount if I took it all, nothing ventured, nothing gained. But alas, the first one was all they’d do. So my helper and his friend will be here on Wednesday to unload the wagons and the farmer will be bringing them in at his convenience until then.

This will be nearly enough for next year. My husband said as soon as I’ve paid for it, we will find 150 bales for free… But I told him, and then you won’t be moving hay for a long time, if so…

So I know what I’m doing for the next week….

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center