Christmas Eve - December 24, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Snow Christmas Eve morning crop Dec. 2021.jpg

On Christmas Eve morning I woke to snow coming down.

Christmas Eve day snow crop Dec. 2021.jpg

We got enough to mostly turn everything white.

Snow Christmas Eve day crop Dec. 2021.jpg

I’m not sure when it stopped snowing as the carpenter arrived and we were busy doing tile work.

Christmas tree with presents crop Dec. 2021.jpg

I had put all the presents under the tree as they came in.

Christmas cards on archway crop Dec. 2021.jpg

I’d also hung the Christmas cards on the archway as they appeared.

Deer at barn crop Dec. 2021.jpg

My son looked out at dusk and saw this herd of deer up by the barn.

I spent the day working on tile or cleaning up from tile. I’d been invited for Christmas Eve dinner at the home of my friend’s partner. He creates the most amazing tableaus and decorations throughout his house each Christmas.

My friend picked me up and brought me home after.

John's outside tree2 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

When you step into his enclosed porch, this amazing tree and tableau greet you. He’s painted stars and planets and things on the ceiling, which is a dark blue. Then he hangs stars and decorations he’s made and some crystals from the ceiling. Around the tree are a series of Italian handmade angels.

John's Christmas tableau1 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

But under the tree is the most fascinating part of all. There’s a working river and dozens of animals, birds, gnomes, elves, and other things. Many are handmade.

John's Christmas tableau5 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

Between my shaky hands and crappy camera, I could not get a decent photo of the coolest part: a working waterwheel.

John's Christmas tableau2 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

I tried with flash…

John's Christmas tableau3 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

and without.

John's Italian angels1 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

Another shot of the angels and ceiling detail.

John's Italian angels2 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

With the flash…

John's outside tree1 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

The tree without flash…

Then you enter the house and find the most amazing decorations, on walls, the ceilings, on furniture, everywhere is something cool to examine.

John's angel chimes crop Dec. 2021.jpg

Like this handmade antique candle with fins that spin from the heat. Colored polished stones, wooden figures, ceramic decor, just wonderful things to see.

John's advent calendar crop Dec. 2021.jpg

This is an Advent calendar with beautiful scenes.

John's candles2 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

In front of it, the coffee table has candles and treats of all kinds. Off to the right is a wood stove, burning cozily.

John's ceiling tableau1 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

The ceiling in this room has been covered in multi-sized dots of varying colors to accent the crystals, stars and decorations hung from it.

John's inside tree2 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

There’s another tree in this room covered with lights in fascinating shapes and loads of wonderful ornaments.

John's inside tree1 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

The tree with the flash, and you can see part of the ceiling.

John's Christmas tableau6 crop Dec. 2021.jpg

Under the tree is a winterland tableau, with mirror waterscapes, fish and sea animals, and bears.

While he was finishing the dinner, I spent a lot of time enjoying all the things he’d set up. Then we sat down to an amazing dinner of roast beef, Yorkshire pudding, mashed potatoes, peas, a salad of greens, pickled beets and cukes, and fresh rolls. He also made sautéed mushrooms.

Dessert was a special ice cream he gets from Cincinnati, peppermint stick. We spent the evening reminiscing about our childhoods, family histories, and I told “David” stories. At far later into the night than I realized, it was time to go home.

I finally got to bed around 11 PM, wicked late for me.

Christmas Day was going to be crazy because I’d not wrapped a single present, had a ton of food to make, and Tom and family were supposed to come. I hoped I would not wake up at 4AM as usual….

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center