Chicken, Thyme and Shallot Casserole - October 9, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Shallots done curing crop August 2020.jpg

When my helper friend and I planted the shallots on Thursday, we took as many of the big ones as we needed. I had a lot of shallots left for cooking, properly cured too!

Friday was to be pretty cold and my knee told me, “Don’t you DARE put me on that cold ground for hours!” so I listened to it. No garlic mulching on Friday. My helper friend was to be here on Friday and he’s an excellent cook. So I decided we’d make something with some of the shallots. Then supper would be done early, ready to bake.

I’d made this recipe before and my husband liked it. It takes forever to peel all the little shallots, so having help would be good.

Chicken, Thyme and Shallot Casserole recipe.jpg


source

Chicken, Thyme and Shallot Casserole  shallots crop Oct. 2020.jpg

It took us about an hour to peel enough for this recipe, and a cream soup one I’d hoped to make. He got the bacon cooked up, and browned the chicken while I peeled shallots, and then he came and helped.

Chicken, Thyme and Shallot Casserole  chicken and shallots crop Oct. 2020.jpg

He browned the shallots, mushrooms, and garlic and went out to get me some fresh thyme and parsley.

Chicken, Thyme and Shallot Casserole  thyme and parsley crop Oct. 2020.jpg

He had to leave so I made the white sauce.

Chicken, Thyme and Shallot Casserole  making white sauce crop Oct. 2020.jpg

I have all my chicken bone stock frozen, so I just thaw out as much as I need.

Chicken, Thyme and Shallot Casserole  ready to bake crop Oct. 2020.jpg

I put the parsley into the white sauce, as I love lots of parsley in things. It was all ready for the oven at supper time.

I never did get the cream soup made….

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center