Butter and Stuff - June 4, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

On the ocean fishing June 2020.jpg

My husband and son went deepsea fishing on Thursday morning, leaving at 2:30AM for the long drive to the NH coast. My son took this.

Fishing boats crop June 2020.jpg

My husband took this one of the harbor. They got 14 haddock and 3 redfish. I thawed out all the old haddock when he called to say they got fish. We will grind it up for the chickens. We’ve been out of fish for the birds for months, as the boats weren’t going out.

Butter  churning crop June 2020.jpg

My helper friend was here on Thursday and he had seedlings to feed and butter to make.

Butter  1st batch crop June 2020.jpg


The 1st batch done, of 4 batches for the day

I was making the rhubarb marmalade while he was trying to make butter, Ms. Helpful, me…. Once I’d finished that I loaded the dehydrator with rugosa rose petals and comfrey leaves.

When he finished the butter, there was still some time left, so he and I took down the last 4’ light stand as the basil had gone to the cold frame on Wednesday. There’s only ginger left under lights.

Wildflowers  poppies2 crop June 2020.jpg


The poppies and batchelors buttons in the wildflower area

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center