As Good as It Gets - February 29, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Sunny morning crop Feb. 2024.jpg

After the temperature plummeting with high wind in the night, it was a bright sunny cold morning. When I went up to the barn to do chores, the driveway was littered with branches. I got out to move them all, and tripped over a stump and fell flat. At the time, the only damage seemed to be to my pride. But as the day wore on, I found more new aches here and there. I hope a night’s sleep will get rid of some of them.

Birdfeeder repair crop Feb. 2024.jpg

Another casualty was one of the birdfeeders. It had been blown right off its rope loop. Being a packrat, I’d saved another feeder of the same type that was no longer usable so I had a new(ish) perch I could replace the broken one with. They will get their feeder back on Friday.

Crate of pots crop Feb. 2024.jpg

I got the kitchen cleaned up and sat for a while then decided to get the pots I needed ordered. I was surprised the price hadn’t gone up a lot more for a case of 1404 ct 3” peat pots.

More transcription crop Feb. 2024.jpg

I worked on the transcription most of the day. I only have 1 big section, the New Herb garden, left to do. There’s also making notes from my photos.

I started organizing the starting notes against the starting charts and discovered we’d left off 3 things, 2 flowers and an herb. So I will have something like 1,018 I’m starting. I put away the notes on plants I’m not starting and cleaned up the mess.

On the job crop Feb. 2024.jpg

Of course, the job had to be thoroughly supervised. I never got a call about the soil. The good news is that the ground froze solid again and I can get the truck behind the house right now so I could unload it down the bulkhead.

In the evening, I watched the last episode of M.A.S.H. I don’t know what I will watch next. I have a book to finish and return to the library soon.

On Friday my general helper will be here at 8AM and I’m hoping I get the call for the soil while she’s here. While we wait, we will be doing the first seed starting. It’s a small one, mostly storage onions, mesclun, and few other things, just 6 trays.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center