Another Project Done and a Haircut - August 12, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Dining - early morning sun crop August 2024.jpg

Morning sun at 7AM in mid August

We’ve been having nice cool nights the last couple days so pretty good sleeping. I got up at 5AM on Monday and got the photos edited, post written and up. Then I got the kitchen cleaned up and the laundry started.

Last load from attic crop August 2024.jpg

My #2 intern arrived at 8:15AM and started hauling the boxes from the attic to the car. They all just fit. I’d gotten ready and we left to do errands as the book store didn’t open until 10AM.

We got 2 done but the 3rd didn’t open until 10AM so we went and waited at the bookstore until it opened. He took all but 2 of the boxes and bought about 15 of the books, so it was worth it in the end.

We did the last couple errands and I saw a sign that reminded me of another I could do. So we turned around and went and did that.

Fair tickets crop August 2024.jpg

It was getting Fair tickets! An important thing, as we can buy them early and at senior discount, so I got one for one of my brothers. I figure one or the other will take me.

We still had some time left and my #2 intern had been talking about cutting my hair for me. It had not been done since my husband did it maybe back in 2018.

Pam - hair before crop August 2024.jpg

It had gotten very thin and straggly and need quite a bit taken off. So we got out the hair cutting kit and she followed my instructions.

Pam - hair after crop August 2024.jpg

She did a very good job and you can see it’s already started to curl under at the ends. It’s still thin, but I couldn’t deal with it as short as it should have been.

Pam - hair after braided crop August 2024.jpg

It no longer goes below my waist but it’s not a tiny skinny thing also. She finished right when she had to go, once we’d cleaned up.

I sat down for a while, kept the laundry going, and then at 2:30PM the hay mulch guy called and said he would bring the last load at 4PM.

Truck load hay mulch crop August 2024.jpg

So we now have 45 bales in the barn, a good start but a long way from what I need.

Office - early morning sun crop August 2024.jpg

In the morning while waiting for my #2 intern to arrive, I had cleaned up the spider plant. The early morning sun looked so pretty I took this.

On Tuesday I am planning to get outside by 7AM and tidy up the 7th Fence garden, the New South garden, and weed and deadhead in the New Herb garden. My helper friend will be here at 9:30AM and will do the foliar and milk feeding. I hope to get another garden done too as it’s to be another beautiful day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now