A Little More Done - October 10, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Big garden  more mulch down crop Oct. 2020.jpg

On Saturday it was to be warm, so I got out there and started moving mulch. I needed to mulch around the garlic in the Small garden, but because I was working alone, I didn’t want to mess with whole leaves.

So I raked up what was left of the old mulch in this area of the Big garden to put around the garlic in the Small garden. It was much easier to work with.

I put down new mulch as I went from the hay stack that was here. I ran out of hay about halfway through.

Small garden  20' mulched crop Oct. 2020.jpg

I got about 20’ done along 2 rows in the Small garden. Now I will have to mess with whole leaves for the rest.

Witch hazel flowers1 crop Oct. 2020.jpg

Behind the Small garden you can see the witch hazel. I was dismayed to find a large branch broken off the easterly one. But it still was flowering well, as you can see.

Witch hazel flowers2 crop Oct. 2020.jpg

The westerly one, under the white oak, had lost more leaves but had a lot more flowers.

Big rose crop Oct. 2020.jpg

The Big rose along the west side of the Small garden is still flowering profusely, even though we’ve had multiple frosts now.

2 cords wood crop Oct. 2020.jpg

Because my husband’s back is so bad, he ordered 2 cords of wood delivered. It arrived mid morning and sure doesn’t look like 2 cords of wood. We won’t know until it is moved and stacked, but it sure looks like we got shorted.

I ended up calling an ambulance on Saturday night to take my husband to the hospital. The pain was so bad he couldn’t walk, eat, or get to the bathroom. They admitted him and will be doing tests and trying to control the pain.

I didn’t get to bed until midnight so I was pretty wiped out on Sunday. Had planned to do more mulching, but I think it will be a rest day. I’m supposed to pick up 25# more of broccoli Sunday night to process on Monday. That should get us through the year.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center