Planting Cuttings & Seedlings

Hello everyone,

Today I decided to take some cuttings from my ornamentals to further expand the plant life around the homestead. There can never be too many plants and taking cuttings is the most economical way to extend my plant count!

I started with some spider plant cuttings and small seedlings that had grown around the main plant. The seedlings came out relatively easy and they had really good root systems already.


_MG_9327.jpg

_MG_9350.jpg


The aloe vera patch in the garden is ever-growing, they are so hardy. I had plenty of small aloes to choose from so I decided to fill two pots with the best ones. Their roots are massive but they are very forgiving so I was able to cut them down a bit to fit happily in the soil. As we all know aloe vera is such a healing plant, I use it regularly to soothe my eczema prone skin. The more aloe plants I have the better.


_MG_9372.jpg

_MG_9381.jpg


I have loads of nasturtium popping up so I decided to unearth a few seedlings to fill my pretty clay pot. I also took cuttings from the Kalanchoe, Aeonio and Foxtail Agave. I finished off by repotting some Twilight chili seedlings.


_MG_9386.jpg

_MG_9395.jpg

_MG_9397.jpg

_MG_9399.jpg

_MG_9396.jpg


There you have it: a simple and free method of expanding ones garden. I'm really happy with the result, they are brightening up walkways and corners that were otherwise bare!

I hope you are all enjoying your weekend. Happy gardening!

Gardeningchef

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center