A mini guide to my raised veg boxes - Gardeningchef

GC2ndbox01.jpg

Hello Steemers!

In my previous gardening post I showed you all my new raised bed/veg box, with plans for a second... and here it is!

After chatting with you all I noticed quite a few of you were interested in them so I thought I would make this post with more in depth photos to give some insight into the process involved. It's really easy to do, easy enough for a new gardener like me. So without further ado, here is my little guide:

GC2ndbox02.jpg

With the box assembled (using the exact measurements as the first one) and in place we lined it with thick garden waste bags, leaving the bottom completely uncovered for water drainage. The bags will act as a barrier between the wood and the damp soil to prevent the wood from rotting from the inside.

GC2ndbox04.jpg

GC2ndbox03.jpg

Once lined we filled it with all sorts of bulk items, literally anything and everything. No rules! It got rid of a bunch more rubbish around the garden. The ratio of bulk to soil is approximately half and half; this way there will no potting soil waste, it would never see the light of day at the bottom of the box anyway.

To finish off we paint the outer layer with wood varnish, protecting the wood and making it look nicer too.

GC2ndbox05.jpg


All we have left to do now is fill box #2 with soil and varnish it! We are also looking into some supportive plates to place on the corners of the boxes to further strengthen and reinforce them.

I have more garden updates to come but I wanted to make this post solely about the boxes, as I would like to help anyone out there who might be thinking about making one. They are super useful for people without much gardening space as you can make smaller boxes and put them anywhere - even on your windowsill/balcony. We made our boxes to make use of garden space that was not being used previously due to poor soil quality.

I hope this inspires some new (or established!) gardeners out there to try it for themselves. Gardening has truly become a passion of mine and I believe everyone should have the opportunity to grow their own produce if they so desire.

Enjoy your weekend!

Gardeningchef

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center