Canadian Thanksgiving ..........How and Why we Celebrate...My personal Story

This past weekend, I held our annual Thanksgiving Dinner. My children are away at University, and one of them will not be able to make it home next weekend so we enjoyed our dinner this weekend. Thanksgiving is truly a time to be thankful for so many things and for me I am so thankful for my family. As many of you know I am a widow and have 3 kids, so family just means so much to me. Thanksgiving to me is one of the reason's why I love to garden so much, I try every year to create my entire Thanksgiving meal all from my garden. I make my own homemade pies, and buns. Come take a look at how the day went, and we started at 7 am, and we ate at 3:30.

Thanksgiving 11.jpg

It all traditionally starts with a Turkey.

Thanksgiving 9.jpg

Then I take a stroll throughout the garden and harvest the last of the vegetables for this great feast. Squash, is a must at any Thanksgiving table.

Thanksgiving 10.jpg

Traditionally we prepare our squash adding pure Maple Syrup in a recycled pop bottle from the Farm down the road.

Thanksgiving 3.jpg

Then I pick the last of the green beans and Broccoli for the Broccoli sunrise salad a family tradition. It is made with raisins, bacon bits, shredded carrots, shredded cheese, and a red onion.

Thanksgiving 5.jpg

And celery for my Apple Stuffing which is so tasty.

Thanksgiving 7.jpg

Here is my Country Harvest Basket that I made. I will make a post about this later. I had help making it.

Thanksgiving 6.jpg

This is the last of my container tomatoes, which sadly just was not ready for my dinner. Oh well next week.

Thanksgiving 12.jpg

And the very traditional Pumpkin Pie. Homemade crust of course. Sadly I only had one lonely small pumpkin this year so I had to purchase a nice sized pumpkin from my fellow farmer down the road.

911.jpg

Then of course there are little people who do not wish to help out cooking and you try so hard to convince them with oven mitt monsters.

16295531_10155006300912244_1288622088_n.jpg

Even Lacy our rescued Australian Sheppard get's a little treat of some of the Turkey dripping and a few small pieces of the meat in her meal.

IMG_3756.JPG

So after a big meal, we all go for a walk at the lake to work off that Turkey coma. Hope you enjoyed our day as much as I have. I am looking so forward to your stories about how you will spend your Turkey Day or Thanksgiving next weekend or for my American friends in November.

Happy Trails

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center