Being neighborly: Sometimes it means trying your darndest to save an old hen...

When you homestead, sometimes things go smoothly and easily, but quite frequently, challenges pop up.

I say 'challenges'. Many people would say 'problems', but I try to look at things from the point of view that issues can be dealt with and are very often learning experiences.

This morning I got a panicked phone call from a neighbor.

She called to say something was very wrong with one of her chickens. It was laying around, lethargic, it had a strange 'white covering' over its eyes... Very strange.

Now, our neighbors aren't really homesteaders, per se. We live in a rural area, and they keep about a half dozen chickens in their backyard. Poultry illness really isn't in their realm of expertise.

That's where I come in, apparently.

I'm the resident chicken expert, since I have quite a few chickens and have dealt with some situations over the past few years.

Disclaimer: I have no more knowledge than the average homestead chicken keeper. More than the average person, perhaps, but that's about it.

P1050926.jpg
Here she is, poor, miserable thing.

Generally speaking, chickens are hardy animals. They aren't susceptible to much, if you keep them clean and healthy, but when they are THIS sick, they generally don't make it. I know this. Here's the thing though. If a creature needs help, I feel like I have to at least try.

Here's what I do when presented with an animal in this condition.


  • First of all, evaluate the animal.
    Her eyes were just closed, the white covering was her eyelids. She was extremely emaciated and dehydrated. She had a messy bottom, low body temperature, and her crop felt strange, probably due to the dehydration.
  • Next, figure out your plan of action.
    Now, many things could cause these symptoms, and without lab testing, we can't know for sure. I set her up in a warm area in a cardboard box, and began giving her dropper-fulls of an electrolyte solution containing colloidal silver, (in case of infection), molasses, salt, and cinnamon, every few minutes.

P1050928.jpg
It looks a little gross, but this is a winner solution that has helped many weak animals recover.

Now, all we can do is wait. Either she will perk up, or she won't.

That's the way it is sometimes. When you homestead, sometimes the animals die. It's a part of life. You do the best you can with the animals; sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. Honestly, I am pretty sure we started working on this ol' gal too late, but we will give it our best shot anyway. If it's her time to go, well, I have lots of hens outside running around. I'll help my neighbors out and replace her so they can continue getting fresh eggs.

It's all part of being a good neighbor, right?!

As always, thank you for reading, and have a lovely day!

DQmbj7aFc4KUTeZutepodkoLfk8RQpX8bmZR1UxNQmeJQ7X_1680x8400.pngDQmWanpr4tr3184ecNVLjHGyoLuS4zVRwgUBUbFzNWfq7Nq.pngDQmXncjfgxpSbXutHSRAPCjVUq7ddoA5SHsLPe7EoNrVfhC.png
badges courtesy of @daddykirbs

Logo-Black-Small-Banner.png

squishysquid_red.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center