Homestead Chicks ~ The Joke's on Me!

chicks 7.22 Yo blondie.jpg

These girls have done some serious growing since I was here, last! Sorry to be gone for so long, it's been life! What can I say?

Our end of growing season has hit; and the re-modeling of our dining/living area was being done when I got home from the pet sitting project, so plans had to be changed. For a while there, the computer got a vacation! It looks beautiful, now, though, thanks to @smylie2005 and hubby Danny! They've both been busy working, and I've been helping take care of Sophie...so, I've been busy, let's just say.

sophie 7.3 petting chicken.jpg

As far as the Homestead Farm Stand, it's slow to start; I do have some faithful clients. The sourcing idea on veggies and fruits didn't pan out as I'd hoped. Eggs, honey and certain of the Bounty Baskets are moving, so I've been re-working the sales model so it works better for those that are coming. And, for me, so I'm not over-purchasing, then wasting.

garden 6.12.18 tomatoes from the vine.jpg

The Gates of Hell have been unleashed upon Texas, as we close out this growing season! This is about the last of the tomatoes. Any tomatoes still growing will have a mealy texture, just from the weather being so hot...it pretty much cooks them slowly.

The chickens are running around the yard; I water and do 'head counts' often, as they've been known to check out the neighbor's grasshoppers. Where one goes, so do they all follow! Yep, they're a flock, allright!

chicks 7.22 play in wet leaves.jpg

Fortunately for all of us, chickens, kittens and cats included, there is quite a bit of available shade , with their coop and general living area (for the cats...they don't stay in the coop) placed so it gets any available breeze. The heat is getting to me! We've got a shop floor fan on the patio, a good sized basin for a chicken wading pool, several drinking containers set out, that I refresh often...it's a balmy 104 degrees out there, right now! And, there is a large area of leaves that they adore digging through, for worms and whatnots...I water that area several times a day. Watermelon and cantaloupe chunks are floated in the water on occasion, it encourages the ditsy ones to consume more water...

chicks 7.22 Ostara.jpg

Which takes me back to the last 'head count'...just a while ago! The crew wandered up onto the porch, so I got them some grapes. They do that when they want a treat. Spoiled much? Quick head count...3 barred rock, 5 Easter eggers, 2 buff orpingtons...wait! supposed to be 3! My poor little heart starts to scramble, and I look over onto the sunny part of the yard, and there lies Yo, Blondie!!! She's the golden hen in the top picture. Jeez, she's sprawled out there, in the dirt, feet splayed out behind her, head cocked to the side. I throw my shoes on and run (for me) out there, thinking I'll be scooping up her poor lifeless body. As I reach down and touch her she squaks and jumps up and runs over to where her flock mates are standing...probably, all, laughing at me!! no doubt!

With that, my friends, I'd better go out and do the next 'head count'! It's gone up to 107 and they haven't come to complain about it yet! Everyone have a great day...everyone Steem on...I know we are!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now