Second Greenhouse & Grow Tent Updates & Spring Arrives Tomorrow!

810131127.jpg

Image Source_



My husband has been a whirlwind of searching online for marketplace sales, craigslist things and whatever, or wherever, he can think of to shop online looking for a good deal locally.

Well in his quest Friday night he came across the greenhouse shown above. (similar ones online retail anywhere from $65-$120/USD), so when he saw this one for $50, he knew it would be perfect. The person who had it posted only used it one season, as her husband had build a new one.

Currently I have a very small greenhouse which is about half of the one pictured; mine is 3'-long x 3'-wide and 6' in height. Mr Golden D has known of my desire to add the second one and I have been looking online for a new one; I just haven't had the time to REALLY dig in and find one and order it.


ghouse.jpg

My current greenhouse


Well with spring officially arriving tomorrow (March 20 - 6:28 AM EDT- 10:28 UTC) and my indoor grow tent loaded to the maximum capacity, I am dreaming of getting outside to start putting up the old greenhouse and getting all the gardening supplies cleaned, in order and ready. We've been having some phenomenal weather the last two weeks; with the exception of a few snowy days and moments spattered here and there. Friday night we actually hauled out the kettle charcoal BBQ and grilled up some pork steaks. Mhmmm, tasted SO good!

But onto the greenhouse search.
The greenhouse he found is about 5'-wide, 6'-long(deep) and 7'-in height. EXACTLY what I would have chosen



So we contacted the seller and went to get the bigger greenhouse Friday.

To say I'm happy and excited is an understatement!

So the new greenhouse sits boxed up in the shed with my first greenhouse; both waiting to be brought out, cleaned up and constructed. I sat down yesterday while relaxing (after a nap) and binge watching on some docu-series on the TV, and started writing up my spring garden to-do list. You know the basics:

  • Trim tree in front yard
  • Weed herb and flower bed
  • Get reciprocal saw to cut 55-gallon barrels in half
  • Clean/scrub greenhouses
  • Set up greenhouses
  • Make more herb and flower stick labels
    __
    herbs.jpg

My homemade herb/flower stick labels from last season


And the list goes on and on.

Now that I have the second greenhouse and know the area I will have to work with, I can settle in and figure out what will go where, what will be in the ground (regular garden area) and what can be in containers and pots inside the new greenhouse. The small greenhouse will be for annual herbs mainly; perennials will go in the ground once they are mature enough so the roots can take hold.

I've had a rough few days here personally and tonight I have plans to sit down and do my final plotting out of the garden and greenhouses. I have my graph paper, pencil, list of plants and herbs and get it all planned out.


Indoor Grow Tent Update


chervil.jpg

Chervil is GROWING fast and looking so healthy


lemon blam.jpg

Lemon balm is taking too


dill.jpg

Dill is getting there!


tent.jpg

The entire grow tent is flourishing


12.jpg

Ice Plant Succulent seedlings sprouting THANK YOU @powellx5 for the ice plant seeds!


32.jpg

Four of each: Lemon grass, mint & feverfew


With spring officially arriving tomorrow I am ready for the outdoor gardening season to get here. I have so much to do, so many chores to get done and a shed to organize so I can have room for transplanting seedling into larger containers.

I have six 5-gallon buckets ready for action, as well as a few few three-gallon buckets for smaller greens.

Just hearing all the birds starting to chirp every day is getting my heart and soul into the gardening season.

signature.gif

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now