KITCHEN Happenings #2: DIY Gourmet Mustard & 2 DIY Goat's Milk Base Soaps

kitchen.jpg

Image Source

Just the other day I made my first post about what was going on in the Golden D Homestead Kitchen. Well, today I was in there again.

Most of you know I make my own soap and I use the hot process of making it. But with winter here and NOT wanting to have to mix the lye indoors, I decided to try a new recipe; using goat's milk melt & pour base. Not only did I feel this was less of a health hazard right now, but it seems so simple.

Last week when I was out, I headed WAY OVER to the craft store and bought the goat milk melt & pour base, plus some shea and olive oil melt & pour base. I also picked up some coloring (you'll see why on the second soap recipe).

Plus I had set up some mustard seeds on Monday to make my own gourmet mustard. We are having corned beef sandwiches on grilled bread for dinner and I wanted to dress up the sandwiches a little bit.


EASY Homemade DIY Melt & Pour Soap


First recipe is Oatmeal Honey Goat Milk


1-lb Any melt & pour base soap (goat's milk, shea butter, olive oil)
3/4 cup oats
1/2 Tsp Tea Tree Oil
2 Tbls honey
10 drops Bergamot Essential oil

22.jpg



1.jpg

Gathering supplies


Melt the base according to manufacturer's directions (30 seconds to start in microwave, then in ten seconds intervals until completely liquified.

The add in tea tree oil, preferred essential oil scent, honey and oats. Stir and pour into waiting molds.
Let set for minimum of an hour. Let cure for about 24-hours. Ready to use.


Second recipe is Lemon Swirl Goat's Milk

1- lb Goat's Milk Melt & Pour base
1/2 Tsp yellow soap coloring
1 Tsp Tea Tree Oil
12 drops lemon essential oil

Melt the base according to manufacturer's directions (30 seconds to start in microwave, then in ten seconds intervals until completely liquified.

Add Tea Tree oil, lemon essential oil and soap making yellow coloring.

Stir and pour into waiting molds.
Let set for minimum of an hour. Let cure for about 24-hours. Ready to use.

8.jpg



33.jpg



DIY Homemade Gourmet Mustard Recipe



14.jpg

3/4 cup mustard seeds (yellow, brown, or a combination)
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup Malted Vinegar
1/2 cup water

Pour in a sealed glass jar and let sit for about 3-4 days. Then using an immersible blender, just blend until consistency desired is accomplished. Store in refrigerator for up to two weeks.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center