Grain bin home - living room

The living room was the first room i finished. Its the lower level of the east bin. I super insulated it with spray foam because I hadnt realized that it didn't need to be so thick.

I started with a double layer running bond of 2' lengths of 2x4 as a bottom plate. The lower layer was attached to the slab with 8x construction adhesive. Then studs on 2' centers and another double layer running bond as a top plate.

The second floor is supported by massive 4x12 beams that came from a 100 year old school house. My mom attended that school k - 12!

Eventually, i discovered that I could spray thin layers that would stick to the wall and i could build up to a reasonable thickness. But in the living room i made "ship lap paneling" of repurposed pallet boards from a nearby construction site. I would attach a few rows of paneling around the room, fill behind with spray foam, and let it cure while i added more rows.

I draped off this room and lived in it with space heaters until i got a wood stove to heat the house.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center