Toddler Puzzle Hack

I'm happy to say that a few days after my last (scathing) cricut post, cricut reversed their decision to limit uploads in to design space (yay!!!). Which meant I could enjoy my machine again and delay buying a Silhouette.

Toddler puzzle made easy

As Bella grows older and smarter we find ourselves rummaging through her toys stash to see if there are anything that she could enjoy.

We pulled out this wooden puzzle a few months ago deeming it not to be a choking hazard and thought perhaps she's ready for puzzles and if not she could always stack them up, right?

She definitely showed the puzzle some interest but as much as we tried to show her where each piece went, I felt it was beyond her age.

I figured it might help her if she could match the pictures instead of just matching the shape so I thought why not use the cricut to hack this puzzle.

Step 1: Scan

The first thing I needed to do was scan the puzzle pieces on to my computer. Once all the pieces were scanned they needed to be arranged so that they fit the print page, resized and edited so that each piece had a defined outline.

Step 2: Print & Cut

Once everything had a defined outline, was the correct size so it could be stuck in to the puzzle cavity, it was time to print on to sticker paper.

Step 3: Paste

If you don't have sticker paper you can always use normal A4 paper and glue the cut pieces into the puzzle cavity, but if you had sticker paper (which is relatively cheap if you're using it for basic things not for resale) life's much easier ;)

Enjoy!

As it happens the stickers were the missing link. Once they were on she knew to match them up. Granted she only plonked each block on top of the cavity but it's a start.

The surprising thing was she knew what I meant when I showed her a piece and asked her "Where does this go?". Even more of a surprise she plonked every single one correctly ⭐

She turned 19 months old yesterday. Can't believe how fast time has gone. 5 more months and she's 2!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center