Geodesic Dome Home In My Neighborhood

Good afternoon, Steemians!

On my usual bike ride, I pass this house that is rather strange but very intriguing. It’s a geodesic dome home. I did a little research and these can be made pretty much tornado/hurricane proof.

19A48E83-6B07-4BC7-B9AA-5EA2CF264345.jpeg

This one needs a little bit of TLC asthetically, but it’s very efficient and a great home in an emergency situation like I mentioned above. My wife and I rode our bikes by it today and I snapped the picture above. We would really like to build/have one built in the next... oh say ten years or so. Once we make it big haha.

Does anyone have any experience with these? I was seriously thinking about living in a yurt for a while, but the whole hurricane thing make that a real “no”. I’ve heard these domes can be extremely energy efficient. They are also really cool (pun intended). I’m going to put some pictures of ones I like from the internet below. Enjoy and thanks for stopping by!

09217ea9fd221e3e735d9a39aaf05f6e.jpg

np2-crop.jpg

Homes-With-Domes-Fort-McCoy-FL.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center