Custom Sports Figurine - How to make an Afro!

018.JPG

I just finished this custom figurine of a basketball player from a small college in Montana, Nothern Montana, the Lights. He played for them from 1969-1973. This order has an interesting back story. I received the order from his son, this is a surprise and he will not receive it until August (I was shooting for Father's Day but he wanted to wait). During communication with the son, I came to figure out the person who he wanted made was actually my high school coach for basketball my senior year. I thought that was pretty interesting. Here is the team picture from my yearbook. The coach is kneeling in front with the big afro.

Chester+High+School+Basketball+Varsity+1976-1977.jpg

So the challenge with this order was I had to create that hair do for him. Another interesting fact about this person, is he is Adam Morrison's uncle. Maybe some of you recall Adam Morrison? He was a shooting phenomenon at Gonzaga University in the early 2000's and was drafted into the NBA where he has a relatively short and unspectacular career with several teams. However, when he was drafted, McFarlane Toys decided he was worth making a figure for. So it was perfect, about as close a facial resemblance as you can get.

41TQVNeOAVL.jpg

As always, I work with the customer to find a pose they like. There are a number of old school poses that work, and he chose the Bill Walton figure.

31718739_10156429207044444_2297963406377877504_n.jpg

Really on this project, the head was the main challenge, as there would be minimal changes to the rest of the figure. I had to sand off the knee sleeves and that was it. Here is a picture of Tom Morrison from his playing days in the uniform I was to do. Plus a picture of the hair.

29852829_10101244149087286_937615989_n.jpg
Morrison.jpg

Sculpting the Afro
The project required I do the head swap between Bill Walton and Adam Morrison. The hair on the Adam Morrison head was a separate piece and I removed it leaving the bare head.

IMG-4357.JPG

My plan was to sculpt the head/skull shape first, then add the hair after that had dried. To give the hair something to gripe onto I cut some short pieces of paper clip and stuck them in the head.

IMG-4379.JPG

Then I sculpted the hair, using a different sculpting putty than I typically use, ProCreate, as it is a bit stiffer than the Apoxie Sculpt I used for the head. To achieve the afro look, once I had the basic shape of the hair in place, I used a stiff wire brush to create the texture.

34504478_1672160429486817_89572131368599552_n.jpg
34605215_1672160489486811_2830636816774725632_n.jpg

I next had to create the neck and fit it into the torso. Sometimes I will keep the original neck and pin the new head to the neck but since the original head was looking to the side and I wanted ot have Tom looking forward, I did a complete sculpt. I use plastic wrap between parts if I want the two pieces separate so I can work on them easier. It prevents the adhesion of the putty and peels off once the putty had set.

IMG-4398.JPG

After the putty had set up, I sanded down the neck area a bit and pieced the figure together to make sure it looked right. I usually like to change the pin in the base from the McFarlane one as they tend to bend over time, so using a thick brass rod, I cut and pin via the leg. You might also notice I sanded off the thin mustache from the original figure's head.

IMG-4410.JPG

After this photo, I primed, created the decals (with the help of a friend), painted and and completed the figure. Another part of basketball customs is doing the base with custom made graphics which I create in Photo shop and print on photopaper which is then attached with spray glue. Here are some final pictures. The side burns I painted on.

010.JPG
012.JPG
014.JPG
016.JPG

Thanks for reading my post about this custom basketball player. I hope you enjoyed it. Feel free to comment if you want or have any questions.

@bigskycustoms

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now