Betrayed by a friend

My name is Jemila and this is my story:

Ever since I can remember I've always wanted to be an actor. From my parents to my church, to my school, you name it. Anytime there was a play I was there doing what I have a passion for. But my parents being typical African parents wanted me to study law, That there is no future in acting, but I didn't believe it cause it's what I had a passion to do.

girl-3811180__480.webp
Image source

I disagreed with my parents to study law, and I got admission into the university to study theatre art but unfortunately, my parents promised not to fund my tuition fees even when I thought they were joking about it, they were being true to their words.

I studied theatre art, and I managed to see myself through the four walls of the university.

After youth service, I got back to Lagos to make it in the Nollywood industry. Omo, it was way harder than I guessed. The hardship am facing right now always gives me the regret of studying theatre art or wanting to be an actor, I keep asking myself if my parents were seeing my future before they wanted me to study law.

On the first of my audition, we're actually in a queue waiting to be picked into the hall, like my country never disappoints it's was man know man.

Me: why can't they run a better industry in this nation
Woman: that is how the struggle is o my dear
First time
Me: Yeah, "because somebody wan joins for their play"
Woman: Am Ella
Me: Jemila
Woman: Nice to meet you
Me: Nice to meet you

I made a new friend, and we became instantly the very best of friends, we would spend hours and hours talking on the phone just like the way teenage girls are, and then we'd hang up and go meet each other somewhere and join other friends. She believed in me, challenged me, accepted me, and she gave me an unconditional acceptance that I had never felt before.

And then the lies began... I of course didn't know they were lies at the time, I believed every single word she would say.

She told me she had inoperable cancer in her brain that it had spread to her stomach, she also said her parents knew nothing about this cancer, and that the doctor treating her was giving her medication that would make her fall sick.

I believed every single word of hers until some months later, I realized A that she wasn't dead and how cancer had not killed her, not like I wanted my friend to die I was just asking myself some questions. B what doctor would be risking his medical license to treat a young girl without the consent of her parents.

She told me how happy she was when I had finally found my first boyfriend of six months and how she tried to sleep with him behind my back.

I couldn't forgive her for all the lies, all the deceptions, and the betrayal. I heard stories about her from different mutual friends and they all urged me to stay away from her. Because it was who she was as a person that was the problem.
Betrayal is like death, yeah the death of trust.

Thank you for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center