Hive and Hive Engine Power Up Day - August 2023

Hey Hivers,

It's that time again, August Hive Power Up Day. Well, technically it's after Midnight in my time zone, so we're already August 2nd. But I made sure to make my Power-Up, transfers and various stakings before Midnight UTC a few hours ago, so we're all good! And this month, on top of the usual HPUD stuff, I have a couple of other achievements I am quite proud of. First off, the big one: I reached 3 years on the blockchain! I didn't realize it's already been that long since I started my journey on Hive via Actifit. So a couple days ago, I was surprised and very glad when I received this cool badge from @hivebuzz:

I am still not a real blogger, and probably never will be, most of my posts are around my sports and fitness activities, but it's been fun so far and I hope for many more years!

Second achievement: like I was hoping, I reached 10k Alive Power just before the end of July. This is a tribe I really like and I am very happy about this milestone. There will be a dedicated section about this token below, so I won't add anything more here.

Now for the more usual: another successful Hive Power Up Month, and another shiny new badge from @hivebuzz again. It's six in a row, and like I already said, if I hadn't gotten confused with the time zones while travelling in January, it would have been more than a year of PUM! I will probably not make that rookie mistake again any time soon!

And finally the main event: Hive Power Up Day! Only one missed since December 2020! Let's see how long this streak can go! And as usual, let's use this as an opportunity to review my account details, its growth, and the various goals and targets.

HIVE

As always, let's start with Hive. Last month I was able to set aside more liquid Hive than usual. And I was able to add even more in July. That is why I increased again the amount of today's Power Up, while still keeping some liquid Hive for the next couple of months at least.

Like I do almost every month, I also pushed a symbolic amount of HBD to savings. This is really nothing, but in the long term, it will add up!

Once again, the account growth was almost linear. There's only a couple of gaps with easy explanations: the first one was just a delayed rewards claim, while the bigger one was due to a 3 day power outage we faced after the big storm last week. The slight acceleration I mentioned for two or three months is now confirmed, it was even faster this month! Starting at 3778HP, I was able to add 115HP to reach 3893HP. Triple digits with only post rewards and curation is very good for me. This is definitely above my 3HP daily target, I might need to revise it upwards.

With today's Power Up, I reached a total of 3920HP! Adding a total of 142HP in a month is for sure one of my best month ever. So I'll repeat the same conclusion: steady and consistent increase but maybe the acceleration is not slight anymore.

SPORTS

Just like last month, I did not pay attention to the new proposals floating around the SportsTalkSocial tribe. But my plan stays the same for now: stake every SPORTS I get from posting and curation. I was hoping to reach 15M by end of July, but my SPORTS Power only made it to around 14.85M, so I will need at least another week, 10 days at most. That is still an increase of 516k, pretty close to last month, and once again above my 500k target. Same as Hive: consistent growth with an acceleration the past few months.

ALIVE

I already mentioned the big news about this one, but let's check it in more details. I keep repeating that the We Are Alive Tribe is one of the best but that is true! Contests, drawings, lots of rewards, it is really #AliveAndThriving, like one of its main projects. I did not reach my 400AP monthly target, but with about 370AP, it was close enough, and more importantly of course, 10k AP was reached!

Targets

  • Like I mentioned, this was a pretty good month for my Hive Power, well above my 3HP daily target. But I am pretty sure August will be a bit more challenging, so I will stay with this same target for now. If it's another good one though, we'll revise it
  • We can for sure keep the same target for SPORTS as well. We reached 500k 3 months in a row, there's no reason we cannot do it again
  • Now that my ALIVE Power went over my 10k target, I will add delegations, and possibly increase my current one. I am not sure the rewards will compensate the reduced curation right away (they will in the long run, that is sure), but I still hope we can add close to 400AP this coming month.
  • No change on the various DRIP tokens, slow accumulation with no defined target for now. I did see some interesting changes with DHEDGE, and I will keep monitoring it.
  • Same for Diesel Pools. The total $ value is not even $35, but I keep adding at least the tokens I don't use, and for which I have so little that selling them makes no sense. I also add a few pairs with really high APR. Let's hit $50 and we'll see.
  • I said last month that if I added 200 LOLZ to my stake, then it should get its own section above. Unfortunately, with now a total around 2274, I only added about 184. Close but not yet. The goal for now is simply to keep about the same percentage of the farming rewards pool.
  • Last month I mentioned PHOTO for the first time. It is still doing well, with almost 1200 added to my stake this month, for a total around 5890. Another similar month and it will get its own section above with the big boys!
  • Still very small, but my CTP stake is growing faster than ever. That is partly due to the CTPX drawings. If you Xplore for a bit, the chances to win it are pretty good.

And that is it, July is gone. So fast... I am repeating myself once again, but the conclusion will stay the same: consistent and steady growth. Let's keep the momentum going, and confirm the acceleration is not slight anymore.
Hope all is going well for you, on to August now!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center