Checking for Bad Gateways

temp.png

It appears that one of the problems of using a Content Delivery Network (CDN) like Cloudflare is that the webmaster has to some how determine if all of the gateways to the server are working.

The Cloudflare network map lists over 200 cites. I suspect that some of their data centers are colocated and that they deliver the content through a variety of hardware and software configurations.

temp.png

Anyway, since I have not had access to hive.blog for the last month due to a 502 gateway error, I decided to see if I could figure out how a web site could track the performance of a CDN. There are wonderful services that let users check websites from different locations. But the checks need to be city specific to check a CDN.

Cloudflare has a status site. The data on this site seems useless and it doesn't seem to include features for checking gateways to specific sites.

The Cloudflare developer page has tools for checking statuses internally. Do you have to check all 200 cities? Hive.blog hasn't given me the password to the system; so I don't think I could use these services. I tried "letmein", That failed.

Anyway, I've found the bad gateway fortuitous as it has force me to use other entry points to hive such as peakd.com and leofinance. I am happy to use these services.

Unfortunately, I've put several thousand links to hive.blog on my sites (i changed thousands of links from steemit.com to hive.blog) and I am worried that a large number of people who visit my site are getting broken links.

How many Cloudflare locations have bad gateways to hive.blog?

Anyway, I had always been envious of organizations that had the funds to use CDNs. It seems to me that CDNs add another layer of complexity; So I am happy with my decision not to follow this route.

The great thing about HIVE is that I can access it through different services. I just worry about the broken links. Should I change them all to peakd.com?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center