Curation rewards vs author rewards

There are a bunch of metrics I pay attention to when it comes success on the Hive blockchain. Such as amount of genuine comments on a post, views, vetting if they are just bot comments or real people. Checking to see if the author responds to comments or just ignores them. And of course the upvotes, reblogs and value of the post comes into play as well.

But one that can be very telling, is comparing your curation to author rewards. Yes people with more stake generally get more attention on their posts, but those people who are really good authors and stand out from the rest can be seen this way. Of course some are just good friends with curators, no doubt. But others just make great content and stand out all on their own due to their quality posts.

So one easy way to tell if you are doing good blogging on Hive is to compare your author to curation rewards.

If you make more as an author than a curator you are doing very well.

As my stake has grown I found it harder and harder to reach a 1:1 curation/author ratio. It is just the system balancing out itself, the reward pool is doing what is suppose to do. That is a good thing.. its honest feedback.

In order to earn more I would need to greatly step up my quality of content. Just making more posts is not the solution, but to make the same posts just better.

During my dolphin and early orca phase in my stake I would commonly see my author earnings higher than my curation. But as my stake is approaching whale levels I have seen a divergence in this trend.

@azircon's post: @azircon/top-200-hive-stakeholders-an-intro-for-splinterlands-players

Shows stake only gets you so far, but it can surely get you quite the boost in the short to mid term in stake amounts.

Which is a good sign of feedback if I wanted to grow more. Though I am quite content earning what I do, and very thankful. But its good to know there is room for myself to grow.

But I know many that do very well here and surely do exceed their curation earnings. But many of those are exceptionally good content creators.

So if you find yourself lacking comments, or up votes consider powering up some Hive. But of course you need to make good content as well in order to be successful. But having stake really does help.

It will allow you to upvote other like-kind authors, and if they like your content as well they just may return the favor. And having this ability to support each other can get you really far.

You can compare your author rewards to your curation rewards at Hivestats.io

Hivestats.io/@solominer
As an example

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center