Should HBIT/Hivebits/Wusang change its "mining" command rule?

Something's been on my mind of late, off and on. I'd like to float it here and would love to hear any thoughts.

My question: "Should HBIT/Hivebits/Wusang change the command to mine HBIT so that users no longer must reply to themselves?"



Quick history: Hivebits/HBIT initially was simply a reply-command...(1) replying to anyone on Hive with the HBIT command would initiate the HBIT bot. 100% of the HBIT came to you. This might sound selfish, but I don't view it that way. Hivebits was meant as a pure proof-of-work (ie., proof-of-comment) project...YOU put in the effort, YOU get the reward.

By contrast, I'd set up LUV first. The idea of LUV was and is to give to others and expect nothing in return. Together, I think of the two as actually complementary, like Yin and Yang, perhaps?

I try to be very cognizant of spam and don't want any of my things to become spam to others' posts or comments. I got a little feedback on this regarding Hivebits at the beginning, when the command-initiator got 100% of the HBIT (step 1 above). The feedback supposed that Poster Person A makes a post and later that Replier Person B leaves an HBIT command in a reply. Replier Person B just mined 1.0 HBIT. However, Poster Person A got nothing except a notification saying someone else had just received 1.0 HBIT (spam?).

I don't want my projects to be perceived as such. So, following a suggestion (I think), I changed it to a 90%/10% proportion (step 2 above). Then, 0.9 HBIT went to Replier Person B and 0.10 HBIT went to Poster Person A. In that way, at least Poster A got a small something, not much, but something.

At some point later on, again to avoid the spam possibility, I changed the rule yet again (3) to initiate a reply-to-your-own post or comment rule. Doing so, the HBIT miner would receive 100%. This was in line with the initial purpose of Hivebits...your effort, your reward. This reply-to-your-own post or comment was carried over with the Wusang game when it began (number 4 above).

And, #4 above is the policy for HBIT/Hivebits/Wusang currently: use any of the HBIT/Wusang commands in reply to one of your own posts, replies, or comments, and you'll earn 1.0 HBIT (and maybe a surprise, bonus "treasure token" from Wusang).

Unintended consequences sometimes happen. The purpose of the reply-to-yourself rule was to limit spam. I've noticed more than once that some unintended things may happen. Specifically, I've seen people make a comment to someone else's post, then reply to their own reply using the HBIT command, which then initiates the transfer of 1.0 HBIT and a confirmation message. In this way, the intent of limiting spam actually caused the person to leave one extra comment on the other person's post. That's unfortunate and exactly what the reply-to-yourself rule had intended to avoid.

Best practice:
I've tried to emphasize a best practice for HBIT or Wusang.

The best practice to mine HBIT or Wusang is to make your own post specifically dedicated to mining HBIT, then reply to that post each day with an HBIT mining command.

Following the method above involves no one else and certainly spams no one else. I've used the method above for over a year now at this post: @crrdlx/wusang-mine

I will add this, @pepetoken has begun to post a daily "mine your HBIT here" post, similar to this one: @pepetoken/play-hive-bits-with-pepe-922. Since Hivers are actively encouraged to mine their HBIT/Hivebits/Wusang there (that's the point), doing so would certainly not be spam. As long as people don't use alternative accounts to farm tokens (one HBIT per person per day, not one per account), and since HBIT can only be mined once per day, I think mining there is terrific. I've done it quite often myself.

Back to my question:

"Should HBIT/Hivebits/Wusang change the command to mine HBIT so that users no longer must reply to themselves?"

What I'm thinking for #5 in the graphic above, would only be a removal of the you-must-reply-to-yourself rule. Everything else would stay the same (100% of the HBIT to the miner, random chance for bonus treasure tokens from Wusang).

Honestly, I'm not itching to make any change. It would require a bit of going back, relearning, reconfiguring and recoding. I think I could do it, with time, but I always fear breaking the system beyond repair. FUBAR is real.

I'd love to hear feedback, either as a comment or in the LUV/HBIT Sting chat at https://chat.peakd.com/t/hive-159259/0 (this is preferred, keep it Hive and earn upvotes!), or, on Discord.

And, happy Hivefest 8!
Schedule: https://app.hivefe.st/dl/d0a5f4
Livestream: @hivefest/hivefest-2023-livestream-and-schedule-infos

-@crrdlx :)



You ask, "What's Hive?" Watch the animation I made: The Hive Story Animation and you'll learn about this Web3 chain. The top benefits of the Hive blockchain: (1) no ONE person/group runs it, (2) YOU own and control your content, and (3) YOU earn the rewards that your content generates. Learn more or consider using my referral link to get your free account here and I'll support you as you begin. Alternately, you can see other sign-up options here. All my links: https://linktr.ee/crrdlx.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center