How much can we earn with our HP?

HIVE is having its Hive Power Up Day in October 1st, 2022.

But before adding in more fiat, I've looked everywhere to see how much we can really earn with HP.

I even tried reading their whitepaper, but to no avail.

So I tried to make a model and assumptions based on my previous experience blogging in @Peakd, @Ecency or @Leofinance.

These are estimates, not exact numbers.

Aside from their badges that you can get, @hivebuzz listed the 3 great reasons for having more HP.
@hivebuzz/pud-202210

1

  • Strengthen your influence on the blockchain with stronger votes on content, proposals and witnesses.

We can really have more influence in the community if we have more HP.

But for me, this reason is not enough as I don't really care what proposals or witnesses are approved. So let's dig deeper on their 2nd listed reason.

2

  • Earn more curation rewards. The more HP you have, the more you can potentially earn back

Fortunately, that influence can be translated to money since HIVE also rewards us for voting contents. We get half of our vote value on its payout date.

We can get higher upvote value when we have higher HP.

In my estimate from experience, we get 0.00002 HIVE vote value per 1 HP we have.

Assuming you have 100 HP:
100 HP = 0.002 HIVE vote value
Upon payout, you will get half of your vote value as a curation reward.
0.002 / 2 = 0.001 HIVE
This will be powered up so you get your 0.001 in HP.

There is also a factor of Voting Mana on our curation rewards.
Voting Mana recharges 20% and it reduces 2% Voting Mana per 100% vote casted on a post.
This means that we can vote up to 10 posts at 100%.
20%/2% = 10

3

  • Earn "interest" by holding Hive Power. You will also earn HIVE passively at about 3% per year of what you currently have powered up so the more HIVE you have, the more you can earn from just holding!

It is 2.864% interest rate as shown in Ecency or Peakd wallet.

Here is a sample of my earning projections.
With these assumptions,

HP Beginning Balance - 1,736.550 HP

This is my projected HP earnings:

This also assumes that I can publish 10 contents daily and I have no friends to help me upvote my posts. Please help with upvote this post so I can earn more.

TL;DR
We can earn 10.61% APR holding HP and earning HP.

Abbreviations used

HP - HIVE Power
HBD - HIVE Backed Dollar

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency