RE: RE: [ESP / ENGL] One, two, three... how many mother tongues?
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [ESP / ENGL] One, two, three... how many mother tongues?

RE: [ESP / ENGL] One, two, three... how many mother tongues?

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and memories! I want to share some of mine.

You used the term "forced migration". That led me to think want kind of forces are there. My grandfather was forced to migrate from today's Poland back to his mother in Berlin by the Red Army and then to Lower Saxony by the Wehrmacht. Now I think how fortunate it is to be forced on economic terms and not on warfare terms. Anyway I don't want to match those two. I have to tell lots of stories of migration in my own biography. I'm just not sure who is gonna write it.

The next thing I want to share is Harriet Pattison's work. She studied how people learn to read. And I am sure this is true for listening. http://www.freetolearnluxembourg.eu/Free_to_learn/EN_Harriet_Pattison.html

Then in 2006, with minor English skills, I visited Northern America und in 2010, way in my 30ies, I got surrounded virtually by a group of international people speaking, listening, writing and reading in English. Both incidents still feel like adding a second language to my tongue. Let's name this my travel's tongue. LOL The point I wanted to make here is, that I changed my attitude towards live by adding another language is this intensity.

So I suppose all this is not a matter of age but of patience and milieu. So migration definitely is a factor!

Great you see the plus side of it! So yes, LOVE is the most valuable message here!!

I'm late to vote, but not too late. I suppose it is to late for @tipu curate , but hey, let's give it a try. And then there is !ENGAGE 20 !invest_vote !WINE !JUICE !PUREWATER !FRESHAIR and maybe everyone even finds your writings on https://read.cash/r/anli soon. Take care!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center