Escapism

It is the last days of summer and the remaining days of this vacation is slowly coming to an end.

I basked in the warm sunshine, away from my sisters, focusing on nothing in particular. From the vastness of the ocean, the cool breeze, the happy faces of children playing on the shore, everything made my heart tranquil.

The ping of my phone has me reaching for it and drawing my mind away from the serenity in the environment.

Life as an influencer always keeps me on edge. I made a vlog earlier today on my visit to the Taj Mahal. I’m an adventurous traveler and a youtuber.

I unlocked my phone and saw that it was a notification telling me that someone just sent me a token.

My loyal fans. They literally eat up all my videos every time. I opened the YouTube app and the notifications bar indicated 99+.

My followers ate it up again. I clicked the comments button and scrolled through the comment section which was filled with various sweet comments and their suggestions on where I should go next.

I kept on scrolling and when I came across a comment that said “Ellen, Why not try going into a parallel universe”

I clicked on the person’s profile and like I suspected, it was a private account but it was rare for people to call me by my name other than the nicknames given to me by my fans.

Intrigued by the idea, I looked up the steps to travel into a parallel universe and the first method it suggested was astral projection.

Astral Projection, a situation where one’s consciousness leaves the human body and goes into the astral realm. I was so sure I had heard of it before and raised my head up, in a bid to recall and I saw my sisters walking up to me. An indication that we should be leaving already if we didn’t want to miss our flight back home anytime soon. I pocketed my phone in the hopes that when I get home, I’ll practice and see if I can really astral project.

Getting back to our home in LA from India, it was late. My sisters all looked forward to having a good time with sleep. But not me.

During the journey, I kept thinking about the trip to the parallel universe and I realized I looked forward to it.

As soon as I got to my room, I settled in my bed and searched up more videos on astral projection. By the time I was sure I understood everything it entailed and was ready for it, i decided to try it out. By this time, my sisters were fast asleep.

I lay down on the bed, shut my eyes closed and when it felt like I was about to fall into sleep, I spread my arms and leg apart, making sure no part of my body touched the other and then began constructing the thought process. I deeply imagined the feeling of having your consciousness linger over your body.

After a while, I became so engrossed in my imagination that I didn’t realize when I started to leave my body.

It was when I opened my eyes and looked around me and saw myself surrounded by strange creatures that I knew I projected already.

And it was into the wrong place.

Source

How I imagined my way into their midst, I could not fathom.

I awkwardly smiled and said ‘hi’.

But they kept on looking at me without uttering a word. The look on their faces, awe and irritation.

Were they having a meeting in this universe before I got here or what?

Why are they seated in a circle?

And what language do they speak?

My eyes scanned from face to face and there wasn’t anyone that seemed accommodating. Instead it seemed like these creatures were ready to swallow me whole.

There was one among them who seemed to be wearing a crown and I figured it was probably the king considering his seat seemed quite different from others. There was something below his feet that served as a toadstool for his feet. I crawled towards him and bowed.

The next thing, I felt myself being dragged by the arms. Then, I turned and saw two of these creatures holding my arms, forcefully making me stand up. I tried wiggling myself out of their grip but instead, they tightened their hold.

So, I resorted to calmly letting them take me to wherever they were going. Struggling in a situation is usually of no use.

I'll rather save my strength for later.

They walked me into something the shape of a bungalow but green in colour. After which they put me into one of its compartments. One that reeked.

They locked it and took the key with them.

In such situations, my first instinct would have been to puke but that was the least of my priorities right now.

If I can’t seem to communicate with these people, I might just as well return to my body.

I tried focusing on being back inside my body and imagined a rope dragging me into my body. When I opened my eyes, I was still in this stinking place.

I tried once again, two times, and then I gave up.
Now, I just have to wait for whatever wanted to happen to happen.

I began recalling all the fun memories I’ve had with my sisters. How I distanced myself from them most times because they got on my nerves more times than not.

My lovely followers who loved me, who were ready to fight.

Was this really the end for the famous Ellen?

A tear dropped from my eyes thinking about the possibility.

Suddenly, I heard a faint sound. More like music.

It became louder each passing second and I thought it familiar.

Then, it clicked that that was my ringtone.
Did they have a speaker here and listen to the same songs as we do on earth?

This brought me back to my senses and I remembered a video said to set an alarm before projecting to the astral realm.

I tried getting myself back to my body once again. I pulled and pulled and Good Lord did it work.

I was back in my body, my bed, my room, my house.

As I lay on the bed, I took a breath of relief, picked up my phone and looked at the caller.

“Hey babe” I said as I answered the call.

Locking up everything that happened in the last one hour in the deepest part of my mind.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments