A Summer to Cherish: Joshua and Amarachi's Story

Every summer was the same for me. The sun would be scorching hot but yet bearable, the heat was always unpredictable but yet I always looked forward to every summer with a feeling of warmth.

Every summer, my father would gather the family and we would go on a two week trip to the beach. I loved the beach of course, it was wonderful. I would build a Sand castle with my younger sisters even though I was a boy and twelve years old was considered a little too old for such games.

1000166656.jpg
Source

I would try to catch the ocean waves with my cousins and later we would collect the items left by the ocean on the sand.
Whenever one of us found something that looked like it was worth something, we would scream and rush to our uncles to show them our finding and each time they would tell us it was just a worthless stone. But still we would continue collecting them as if magically, a precious gem would appear.
There would be barbecue and bonfire at night and we would have fun until mama would remind us it was time for bed even if it wasn't a school day.

Every summer was always like that for me. It was more than magical.

1000166658.jpg
Source

This summer was looking somehow bleak for me. I wasn't excited like I would normally be for summer vacation. I wasn't looking forward to meeting my cousins who I haven't seen in a year. What I wanted to do was sit in my room and play video games.
Usually, the nights before our summer vacations we're always too long and the days we're even longer, but this time it felt like the days we're moving too fast.
Maybe it was my puberty hormones kicking in just like my teacher had explained in class. I was already thirteen this summer and a few inches taller than I was last summer.

1000166657.jpg

Source

"Joshua!"
I turned around at the sound of my name, and there running towards me was my ten year old sister Annabel, waving at me. But it wasn't Annabel I was staring at, It was the girl standing by her side, wearing a white dress with her hair in cornrows. From a distance she looked beautiful, but when she got closer she looked like an angel. She was a head taller than Annabel and her skin was like freshly grinded cocoa.

"I was calling your name but you didn't hear me, where is your head" said Annabel.

I couldn't speak, I just stared at the girl beside my sister. She must have thought I was weird but I couldn't help it. Now I know what Starstruck means.

"Joshua meet my new friend Amarachi" Annabel said, oblivious to how I was feeling.

"Hi, I'm Amarachi".
Her voice sounded like smooth butter in my ears
.

"Nice to meet you Amarachi, I'm Joshua".

I thought I was going to stutter but thankfully I did not.

"Amara said she and her family are also going to the beach this summer. The same beach we are going to. Can you believe!" The excitement in her tone could be heard from a mile away.
I turned to look at amarachi for confirmation and she only smiled a shy smile
.

Suddenly as quickly as it had come it was gone. The disappointment I felt towards our summer vacation was gone, it was now filled with immense excitement that I couldn't explain. My summer would not be bleak anymore, in fact it would have all the colours in the world. This summer would be the best summer ever. I smiled on my way home, when I was taking a bath, when I went to sleep, and even when I woke up.
My nights were no longer too short but rather too long. I couldn't wait for the summer vacation where I would get to see her again. I can't wait!!!

                                                                              THE END❤️. 

This post is in response to dreemport/ scholar and scribe challenge click here for more info

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center