The Seller (Short Story)



Source


Tamec passed by some street vendors; goods laid out atop fabric.

"Anything you need, I got you covered." One seller called out to nobody in particular. Some people stood and looked at what he had for sale, the sellers eyes drifted over them all, analyzing each face carefully before staring at the next.

Tamec was one in the crowd, and didn't really know why he stopped. Tokens were in short supply, but he knew he could potentially scrape together a few, for the right item.

"Human, what do you need? Whatever it is, I can get my hands on." The seller asked, and as Tamec met his eyes the seller let out a smile.

They were a Mulu; leathery skin, which looked slick. Two eyes floating above his head on fleshy poles. One looked at him constantly, while the other moved independently to look at others.

"I'm not really in the market for anything right now. Thanks," he finished.

"That so? What about your gun?"

"What gun?" Tamec asked confused, as he looked at his hip.

"My point exactly, where's your weapon, or are you that brave that you feel that you don't need one?" The seller asked.

"Do I need one? Is the city unsafe?" Tamec asked.

"Unsafe? It's a fine city, with plenty of fine people in it. For some, perhaps it's save, for you though..." The sellers words drifted, his eyes darted back to the crowd. "That's right, take a look, I won't bite. Anything you need I can get." He said to everyone in his vicinity.

"For me? What do you mean?" Tamec asked, but the seller ignored him for a moment.

As Tamec waved the seller glanced back.

"For you, it could be unsafe, sure."

"Because I'm Human?" Tamec asked wearily.

"Human, no. Not because of that, I've known some pretty crazy Humans." The seller laughed. "I think it would be unsafe for you, not because you're Human, but because you're the kind of person you know that they do not possess a gun, but look anyway just to make sure. The naïve tend to get preyed upon fast in places like this."

"I'll be safe, don't worry about me," Tamec waved a hand at the seller as he turned to walk away, knowing that the seller was trying to spook him into buying something he didn't need.

The Mulu started to laugh. "Okay Human, you just be careful, especially when it comes to pickpockets... Like the one that's getting away." Others in the crowd started to laugh as the Mulu pointed at someone fleeing.

Tamec didn't have time to think, and ran as fast as he could to chase them down.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center