What do I love about Hawkeye?

Tuesday, 17th on January 2023 [29]

This and last week both feel like doom and gloom. I think it’s time to admit it that I’ve been slightly depressed. Why? Because I sleep and sleep all the time and I have no will to do anything else but watching movies, eating and… yeah, sleeping. I mean, it's winter. Nature hibernates and so it's natural that we hibernate too. There is more to it that meets the eye... hawkeye maybe? 😉

If you saw me at work, you wouldn’t guess there is anything wrong. Yes, I took last Monday off sick, but apart from this, I have been lively and engaged with my coworkers, starting new projects left, right and centre.

On Thursday I finished off my work week with a great chat with my young colleague. Afterwords I said that now is my quiet time. I’ll go home and be in silence, only broken by the evening movie of my choice.

He was surprised. He said that our chat made him feel #alive and on the way back home he’ll be on the phone to his mates, organising something to do together. He felt great!

I felt great too. I love meaningful conversations with people. They make me feel #aliveandthriving too. In that moment. Although after busy day with lots of people around me, I often crave solitude.

It’s not like this all the time though. When I’m happy and excited, this energy will continue well into late at night. Be it #dancing and chatting with my friend on her carpet, attending #yoga class or driving 35 miles to the place I take my regular salsa classes and then dance till 11pm. 3 evenings out of 4 in my usual 4 days working week are planned and very active.

Last week I attended one of those and this week none. That’s how I know that little depression managed to creep into my life. I just don’t feel like humaning at all. Not even engaging on Hive much, hence why I finally decided to use hive.vote to automate some of my votes. In days like this week it is very likely that my voting mana will be sitting at near 100%, wasting the awesome 1k HP delegation and my own 400 HP voting power.

So what’s with the title you ask? Well, since I have no will to do anything else, I get home, cook dinner and watch movies until I fall asleep on my sofa and hopefully wake up half an hour later to move to my bed. Since I watched almost everything on #Netflix already, I decided to get a #Disney subscription for a change, so I can watch and rewatch all the #Marvel series and movies.

The one I started watching last Thursday was ‘Hawkeye’. Not really amazing, but there was one detail I really enjoyed. My ex made me see weird details in movies. Like the bad guys are always Russian or at least from some Eastern European county. Well, here some of the bad guys are Polish! We would also laugh at movies where the actors really badly try to fake British accent for example. Most of them sound nothing like a British person. Even worse when they try to act as Eastern Europeans.

This time I was surprised! I heard a butchered English and looked at the guy and I’m like:

‘He’s a Polish actor!’

I paused the movie and looked closer at his face. Definitely know this face, but at this moment the details started blurring. Is he Polish? Maybe American, maybe British? Well, I didn’t know anymore. Since I have 0 memory for names, I started to doubt myself and I continued watching.

The bad guy was present in a few scenes with his perfectly butchered English in a very Polish way. Then I heard him speaking Polish and his Polish was perfect too 🤩 So for once, I watched all the credits at the end of this episode and finally I found him! Piotr Adamczyk is definitely a Polish actor that I have seen in many Polish movies before, but since I rarely watch Polish movies these days, I doubted myself for a moment.

So I continue watching Hawkeye series with a new found appreciation for being bilingual. Years ago, when I was still a teenager I read somewhere that there is nothing better than reading the books in the language they were written in. I wondered how can this be true. I enjoyed reading books in Polish that were originally written in other languages, so how can this be different?

I didn’t understand it, but I decided to learn at least one other language so well that I’d be able to read books in that language. Luckily English was my language of choice and although I’d love to learn many other languages, I feel like there is not much time to learn another one to the same level.

Now that I’m finally here, I can tell that there is a difference for sure. It is very sublime. Intimate almost. Some expressions simply can not be translated literally from one language to another and the translator replaces these with one of similar meaning, yet not exact. Is still reads good, but… not as good as in the original language. I guess that's where the saying: ’Lost in translation’ comes from 😉 Quite literally.

The same goes for movies. There is a difference between American actor trying to fake Polish accent and the actual Polish actor butchering English in a Polish way, then talking perfect Polish to his mate in the background. I really loved the latter in the ‘Hawkeye’.

There is also a sense of pride and some satisfaction in seeing Polish actor in Marvel series. Yeah, he’s a bad guy, but who cares? He plays his role perfectly and I really appreciate the series more just for this ‘little’ detail.

That said, I’m already almost at my 1k words limit, so let me end this here.
Have a great day and if you have no other plans, so watch Hawkeye 😉

Until next time 💙

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments
Ecency