Beach Adventure: Finding the Rhythms of the Heart in Ventura

IMG_6352.jpeg
I’m certain that, if we are reincarnated souls, my past existence was that of a sea creature. Some life form whose entire world consisted of water, sun and the soothing movements of current and flow.

I’d like to think I was a dolphin or killer whale. These have been favorites of mine since, well, forever! They are within my small set of “drop everything and come look” life forms. But I could have easily been a seahorse, bobbing along towards new adventures and discovery with a curious, almost impish smile.

I feel this because I feel the sea. Crave its briny odors and temperate comfort. Regardless of what’s going on in the worlds above, dipping a short distance below the surface enshrouds us in comfort.

You may notice a theme here. It’s not just that I like the water. I resonate with moving water. My mind and body seek and synchronize to the frequencies of the oceans and streams. Primary alignments are the strongest, but even the slightest harmonic is enough to calm my sense of being and place in this universe.

The other aspect of beaches I love is the infinite newness. Each lapping wave carries new possibilities and old memories. Each an opportunity to feel something new that will never, ever happen again in that exact form. It reminds me that time and tide wait for no one, and while there are fundamental moments that shape us, it’s important to look forward, dream back, and carry on. The tide is comforting, but so is cutting across or against it for its own growth potential.

Last week my partner and I made an overnight trip up the coast to spend quality time together. We had a lovely night over tapas and drinks before taking in a comedian’s special performance. The performer is well known, and has gained great notoriety in recent years. But like the tide, they know that fame is fleeting and measured by what they do next. So they had jumped into a pool of uncertainty to try out new material on us to gauge our reaction, just as we were trying out them. What makes these special is that the performance is far more interactive. They benefit from spontaneity, we benefit from connecting with them with a hint of vulnerability.

IMG_6324.jpeg
My human life partner knows that I will never leave my mistress, mother nature, and her most tempting muse, the sea. It’s the welcome inspiration that she reaps benefits from as well, for she loves to sleep in, and I wake with a vagabond’s heart to explore.

Thus it was that I went for an early walk along this stretch of coastline. Sand dunes muffled sounds of surf that called to me. As I breached the pathway to touch the lapping waves, she greeted me with a beautiful diffused smile, upside down in the morning fog. I smiled back, feeling her loving droplets envelop and nurture me.

IMG_6382.jpeg
Before returning to my love, I stopped at a seaside vendor for some grilled oysters and ceviche, then messaged her to know I was on my way. She grabbed the bottle of champagne we’d brought, and together we languidly enjoyed our sumptuous feast, playfully fighting over the remnants of our morning delight.

IMG_6472.jpeg
When it came time to return to the world, we substituted the rat-race freeway drive home with a serene drive along the coast, stopping at a produce stand for oranges, melon, capsicum, and richly scented strawberries that deepened our appreciation for this time together.

A familiar tension took hold as we neared home. The road would turn inland; our desires didn’t. If not for our fond memories, dispute may ensued. Instead, we blew fond kisses to the waving ocean, knowing the weekend had created enough memories to sustain us until we meet again.

IMG_6336.jpeg
So long, my dear friend, until we roll around in each other's arms again.

#scholarandscribe
#dreemport
#dreemerforlife
#beachadventure

(All photos are property of the author)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center