Weaving Her Home - Short Story

"Spidey held off her tears and steadily, steadily weaved her webs."



Weaving Her Home

She forced patience. She swallowed her desperation, she ignored her stress. She steadily, steadily weaved her web.

Spidey held off her tears as she remembered her broken home. The sanctuary that provided her rest, food, and company. She worked so hard on building it. Yet, it vanished in a moment. One monstrous hand took it all away.

She barely survived. The monster slammed his hand. Aiming for the Kill.

Spidey, the runaway finally found a place. Another sanctuary. She swore to make it bigger than her first. Fancier, sturdier than her former dwelling.

Spidey steadily, steadily weaved her new home.

The End


Word Counter Screenshot

(Wordcounter.net)

🕷 🕸 🕷 🕸 🕷 🕸 🕷


Author Notes

This is my entry to the first Dreemport challenge for June 2023. Prompt: "Thread." I had the idea written down, but couldn't post in it time for the challenge. I was supposed to publish this story last Thursday, but I got busy with LeoThreads's Challenges that I needed to do.

This is slightly based on a scene I saw in "I'm a Spider So What?" anime. Though the protagonist of my version is a normal Spider.

This is one of my simple drabbles, and I loved the emotions I put into it in so few words. I love to refer to Spiders creating their web as weaving. I tried to not use the word "thread" in the story itself but to make it clear that it passes for the prompt. I hope that I accomplished that.

What do you think?

I enjoyed making the drawings for this too, I might make a full post about the drawing so tell me if you wanna check it out.


* The post's image is made using Clip Paint Studio.
* 5% of this post rewards will go to @ackza for owning a Digital Funding Token.


Read Other Stories:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency