Hey! It's My Birfday! Been Happy Like It's My Birfday!

What a crazy week it's been - again. Been totally devastated about events in Palestine, sleepless over it, and yet, in the middle of that, a beautiful sunny day amongst a week of cold weather - and it's my birthday. Feeling grateful and sending metta to those in Afghanistan, Palestine, and anywhere else that is suffering violence and colonisation.

IMG20231011104713.jpg

I stayed in bed long enough to get a lovely card from my beautiful husband. He always writes the best cards. Then I was off down to the coast for an early surf. The sun was burning off the fog on the way down making for a very beautiful landscape. And yes, that's my postal vote on the dash - Australia votes whether 'whether to change the Constitution to recognise the First Peoples of Australia by establishing a body called the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice.'

IMG20231011064937.jpg

The surf was beautiful and I got six awesome waves before the tide got too high. As I got changed the birthday calls came from my parents and sisters birthday - it's our tradition to call and sing, which is hilarious and makes it feel like a special day.

Then, a delicious takeaway oat chai latte and laying about in sunshine waiting for my son to arrive. I absolutely couldn't believe he was coming down. It's an hour and a half drive and he had to drop his son - my beautiful grandson - off at daycare. I think perhaps he is getting older and realizing Mums are legends and worth celebrating. Especially me.

We had a little surf down the coast which was so much fun. Honestly, it's been so long since we've surfed together and Jarrah just loved it. Then, lunch at a cafe.

IMG20231011132222.jpg

After that I was exhausted and had to go home for a nana nap. Before long, Jamie was home and we drove down to Lorne for dinner.

Honestly, sometimes the universe just aligns and creates magic, just for you.

Today was a bloody great birthday. It's possible to feel joy and sorrow all at once. That's what it means to be alive, I guess. Overall, I felt truly happy on the drive home, yet knew that at the same time, it wouldn't last, and that was okay.

πŸŒŠπŸ’—πŸŒŠ

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center