Crazy Landlords: Rents And Rants

I have had crazy experiences with Landlords/homeowners and one thing I can say is that the majority of them are the devil's second in command on earth, prowling and always on the lookout for people to pounce on. I know it is a big flex to own a house, but these landlords take it to a different level. I don't know how it is in other countries, but here in my country, these landlords are mini-gods. Especially in certain states. According to sources, the cruelest landlords are in Lagos state. Just because they are in the position of authority, they pull strings- do and undo. Sometimes, I wonder if they do things intentionally to get on the nerves of their tenants. Sometimes, it is not just about the house rent, something just gets in their head and screams in their ears "Be mean to your tenants."

The rate at which landlords are becoming really brutal is alarming. I understand that brutal is a seemingly violent word, but I couldn't think of a better word to use. So, brutal sticks. Today, it is not difficult not to see all landlords as mean people. Surely, there are still good landlords out there, but the bad ones have earned a generic name for all of them. I remember the one time I read a thread about how mean landlords can be. From greedy landlords who'd want to collect more rent-free, to wicked ones who'd do unnecessary things just to get on the nerves of their tenants, and the ones who are just creepy. It pleases me when I read threads about how tenants pay back their landlords in multiple folds. As I mentioned above, I have had ugly experiences with Landlords. In this post, I'll share one that happened recently.

Here in my school (just like in so many places in my country), the landlords are greedy mini-gods. Sadly, they are untouchable. Picture a fat man with a bald head, short legs, and a protruded stomach, yes! That is exactly how these landlords are. One thing they are good at is exploiting students. Because this place is a student area and students have no choice but to rent houses there, they put their house rent to an outrageous price. They could wake up one day and say "Oh! I'm feeling special today and I feel like increasing the rent." Boom! He gets it done. All students can do is complain and complain.

I remember during my 100 level days, about 4 years ago. Houses were crazily expensive, but we had no choice but to take them. Fast forward to 2 years later, they doubled the price of the houses. As if that wasn't enough, last semester was the last straw that broke the camel’s back. It seems all the landlords had a meeting and decided to triple the house rent. The worst part? They informed students just 1 week before resumption. How do you expect to get triple what they used to pay just one week before resumption? The saddest part is that no one could do anything about it. It is either you pay or leave the house. I hope that one day they learn their lessons.

Thubnail designed with MetaAi

Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center