Childhood Treasures

While scrolling through my gallery, looking for topic ideas, I came across an image that I downloaded somewhere, probably on Twitter or Instagram. Occasionally, I discover new topics on these platforms and I take screenshots of them for future purposes. The topic caught my attention: "Find something that makes you nostalgic and take a picture of it. There were three topics and among the three of them, this one piqued my attention. I am surrounded with things that make me reminisce about my childhood days. I try as much as I can not to let all my childhood memories get lost. I always feel that our childhood memories are special and with time, they start to fade, which is why we should keep pictures or replicas of things that evoke nostalgia.

For instance, I have this disc of The Originals, featuring Joseph Morgan as Klaus Michaelson. I bought that disc years ago. Before Netflix became popular, we used DVDs and discs. I remember my sister and I watched all the seasons together. We spent day and night in front of the TV, watching the original. Out of the many discs we bought, only one survived. When I gained admission into the university, I remember packing it with my things. It reminds me of the good old days.

My eyes caught the sight of something that makes me nostalgic, and I took a picture of it. Actually, there are many things that make me nostalgic in this room, from my favorite jug, to my sneakers and my weird-looking door knob, but there are so many sweet, better put, bittersweet memories attached to it. I sighted my PlayStation pads and it took me on a trip down memory lane.

I grew up with my brother and cousins. Most of us were guys. During the holidays, the house was always full with the guys playing games and the ladies doing whatever they enjoyed. We loved playing games especially football games. We did not have a Play Station, but we had a system where we play PES. That laptop was our most cherished possession. Whenever my mum wanted to punish us, she'd seize the laptop and make us do our chores before giving it back. Those days were the days where Winning Eleven and Pes was ruling the gaming world.

For a long time, my brother and the other older siblings never allowed us, the younger ones, to hold the pads, talk more or play games. We were only allowed to stare at the pads from afar and watch them as they played. As time went on, they gradually allowed us to touch the pad and play a few games but only when they had played numerous games and got tired. I remember the time my brothers allowed me to play against my cousin who was the same age as me. Somehow, he managed to score a goal and ended up winning the match. He made fun of me and that pissed my brother. Every night, my brother and I practiced till I became really good. Not only did the game strengthen the bond between my brother and I, it also made my childhood pretty interesting. These pads remind me of how awesome my childhood days were.

Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center