A Wonderful Gift

For me, every gift counts even the smallest of gifts and as a child, it was even more. Even a gift as tiny as a candy was received with so much joy, it felt like winning the lottery.

What was your first Phone?

I remember it just like yesterday when my dad came back from one of his trips with a Nokia 112 phone for me, in his words “Take your phone and you better use it well”, oh lord the joy in me that day knew no bounds, I was ecstatic and as a result of that I couldn’t even sleep that night.

IMG_4305.jpeg

I was so happy because I was the only one in my cycle that didn’t have a phone then, all my friends were on various social media platforms. I was always jealous of them whenever I heard them use some social media slangs or whenever they talked about the latest game they were playing with their phones, yours truly could not relate.

I was the only one in my cycle who didn’t have a phone but not the only one in my class who did not have a phone so I took solace in the arms of “Team No phone” and I was a bit fine.

IMG_0702.jpeg

Before getting that Nokia 112 from my Dad I knew how I worked my ass for it, I knew how well-behaved I had to be all through the period that my dad mentioned that he was going to get me a phone and I knew how hardworking I was.
Children of this generation are so lucky, your parents can just go out and come back with a phone for you without you doing anything but back then getting a phone meant being on your best behavior and doing incredibly well at school, basically putting in the work.

61168fb9-2d21-4427-9154-d29bf4ec3872.jpeg

Getting that phone was everything to me, it felt like I was exploring a new world. Since I got the phone I had to catch up with my friends on social media and that was when I became addicted to social media. Back then it was 2go and Facebook that was popular. I reached the highest level on 2go and I had so many virtual friends. I wasn't sleeping early anymore and I was always on my phone but trust African parents to reset your brain when you feel you’ve grown wings and could fly as you so wish.
My father started seiz​ing my phone. You could flog me, yell at me, do all you want but don’t seize my phone. It was no news to my family that my phone was my weak point, it was the one thing that could reset my brain, my father knew and he started seizing my phone every now and then.

59119992-dce2-4b80-99a7-efd11f7495de.jpeg

That Nokia 112 served different purposes in my life back then but worthy of note was it made me more hardworking than I could ever imagine and it also made me well-behaved as I knew what was at stake, any decrease in my grades or any sign of stubbornness was corrected by that phone😂😂

Thinking about it now I can’t help but smile, I went through a lot just for that phone but regardless it was my everything then. I had so many firsts with that phone. First SIM card, first virtual friends, first social media handles, and even first relationship🥰

Taking good care of my phone today stemmed from taking good care of my first phone. Anytime that phone fell it felt like a part of me was shattered, it was my golden egg and at such I had to take good care of it, you dare not manhandle my phone for any reason or you’d be amazed with what I could say or do to you because of that phone.

My Nokia 112 was not big or fancy but it was my everything and I was content. With it, I made so many memories and it was a stepping stone to getting bigger phones and gadgets😃

This is my entry to the India United Weekly prompt, for more details you can check it out here.

All images are mine except otherwise stated.

Thanks for stopping by
Loads of Love🥰🥰
XOXO

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency