i was so overwhelmed seeing my first phone

Good day, amazing people of the hive block chain. Welcome back to my blog. I am so happy to be participating in this week's prompt theme, What is your first phone? #indiaunited

Wow, it was really an amazing moment for me. Will I say the best day of my life? I was so overwhelmed when the phone was gifted to me.

FAF03805-1014-4CAC-A723-F173561DE7C4.jpeg

source

I have this aunty that stayed aboard the last time she visited Nigeria. She promised to get me a phone if only my West African examination (WWAEC) was okay. After sitting for the exam for a few months, my results were out. My dad forwarded my results to my aunty. She was very happy, and she called me through my dad's phone, telling me that she would send my phone in a month.

Just hearing that she will send me my phone in a month, I was very happy. I was wishing for the days to go by fast because I can’t wait to have my phone.

One evening, I was at home watching television when my dad arrived with a pack and turned it on me. I was like, Dad, what is this? My dad said I should open it. To my greatest surprise, it was a new brand phone, a Blackberry phone. I don’t need any people to tell me that it was from my aunty. I was so happy, I could not hold my joy. I sounded like a mad woman. People from the next flat have to rush to my flat to know what the problem is. I couldn’t hold my happiness. I was not expecting a BlackBerry phone because of them. A BlackBerry was like an iPhone. Anyone who is holding a BlackBerry back then is a big girl.

Sweet lord I was so happy. Do you know that night I didn’t sleep through the night? I was super excited among all my siblings. My phone was the most expensive, and secondly, it was my first time having a phone of my own.

6EAE7121-0BF1-4B68-AE19-9ADC30D04C2C.jpeg

source

I can’t just wait for the day to break so that I can show my new phone to my friends and download some apps on my new phone. I am so happy that I can join social media because I have been hearing a lot from my brothers.More especially 2Go.

2Go was the first app I downloaded on my phone, then Facebook. I called my aunty on a video call to thank her for the phone. From the video call, my aunty could tell how happy I was. My aunt ever asked me if I slept at all during the night. I was just laughing. All she could say was that she understood the feeling serious. I was very happy. That phone was like a treasure to me. My siblings don’t touch it before I give them the chance the chance to snap pictures; they have to beg me. The camera is very good for taking pictures.

663B23BF-FF4C-4F67-A293-7101237AFBD0.jpeg

source

For a month, I was sleeping with my phone. There is this app I downloaded. If you touch my phone, it will make a sound. I was pampering the phone like a new baby. My mom will always tell me you have to pamper this phone more than a new baby. I will tell her mom you will not understand how precious this phone is to me.

I became so addicted to the phone that most times I will forget to cook something just because I am going or Facebooking. I am ready to stay up in the night just to chat with some friends and also make new friends. My mom noticed that I had become so addicted to the phone that she had to seize it for weeks before giving it back to me.

During those weeks, I was very calm at home, and my mom really reset my brain during those weeks.

This topic just took me back to memory lane. I can’t stop laughing at myself for how crazy I acted back then, but it was worth it, if I may say so.

I will be so delighted to read about your reaction to your first phone call. Was it normal for you, or were you overwhelmed?

This is my entry on the weekly prompt #indiaunited.

click here to participate in the weekly prompts.

Thank you for stopping by my blog. I appreciate your comments, support, and upvotes. Have a lovely day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center