Say Hello to the 3 Musketeers 🐶🐱🐶

Hello Hiveians! It's OCD's community highlight once again. This time, the featured community, Hive Pets, is one of that I have already subscribed to. My last post was in support of the community's contest by answering the question, "How do I show my love to my pets?".


3 musketeers.png

For this week, the theme is about getting to know our pets. Guide questions are available such as how the names of our pets came to be, their fave food and funniest moments. I have 3 pets, Ginger, Biggie, and Kitty. Each of them has a story to tell. They have different personalities but have a lot of things in common too. Let me share to you more about them.

What's in the name?

bench.jpg

Kitty
We actually haven't thought much about the name for Kitty. But I remember his resemblance to my childhood pet cat also named the same. They both have white and black colors but the previous one had a hint of orange spots. Another thing that is common to the two is how much they like to be petted. Though there are really limitations to their petting time, I think the duration is a bit longer as compared to other cats I know.
Ginger
Among the 3 pets, Ginger is the most senior and our first one to join our family. We got her around two years ago as my father's retirement companion. My brother suggested the name Ginger because of the color resemblance. My father named her originally Venus. It was not certain how he got the name. Nevertheless, the majority won and the puppy was named Ginger.
Biggie
Biggie was originally my sister's pet. He was the son of Summer, the matriarch of the Shih Tzu-Dachshund family my sister has. Since my sister was already overwhelmed by raising 7 doggies, she gave Biggie to us. Biggie was named by my sister as such because he is the biggest among the among his siblings. I wanted to name him Chewie since he resembles Chewbacca and is also fond of chewing stuff but he already was used to the name Biggie so I continued to call him as such.

Funniest Moments

Ginger
It was almost 2 years ago, I brought Ginger to the province. It was a first for her to travel in long hours. She was so behaved in the car. As we arrived in the family cemetery, we let her out without having any leash. The area was secured with a fence but vast enough for her to run around. At first, Ginger was scared to get out of the car. When I got out first, she followed. The next thing I knew, she was already comfy in the area. She was running around the grassy grounds and smelling around. I think out of excitement, in the middle of her running, she pooped, ran again, and pooped again. She pooped 3x in the middle of her run. I think she held it up for quite a while during the long ride.
Biggie
It was Sunday, during our morning jog, I had Biggie with me. We went to a nearby place where he can freely stroll around without putting on a leash. We ran across an elderly couple who were also doing their weekend run. Suddenly, Biggie was no longer walking with me but followed the couple and cling to the man. I kept on calling him but he wouldn't listen. He kept on wagging his tail and wanted to be petted. I wondered why he behaved as such. Then I noticed that the man has the same built like my father's. Biggie probably mistook him as my father. Good thing Biggie is not as big as Ginger. The couple might have been scared off. They just laughed at Biggie while I was explaining to them his behavior.


park.jpg

Kitty
This funny moment was really caught on camera. During the early morning shift, I still don't have the appetite for a full meal. So, I only eat bread or a few spoons of rice from a bowl or saucer, then matched with hot choco or coffee. There was this time that I wanted to take a picture of my empanada breakfast. Usually, Kitty would follow me around and want to taste what you are eating. While taking a picture of the food, he was already there in front of me. So I just included him in the pictures. I thought he will just smell the food and wait for me to give him. But, he was too impatient that he knocked over the food and snatched it.

food.jpg

Favorite food

The three of them just love my father's specialty recipe, Humba. Humba is a Filipino pork dish that is made with pork belly tendered in soy sauce, seasoned with bay leaves, azucena, black beans and added with brown sugar for sweetness. When I only give them just dog or cat food, they will just ignore the food. And if I add some dry dishes like fried fish or chicken, they will still not eat the dog or cat food. But when I add humba to their bowls, there would be no left overs. The sweet-salty sauce of the humba will just stick to their dog/cat food making it appetizing for them. Everything should be in moderation though. Since the dish is made of fatty pork belly, we will just not include the fat portion for them to eat. It will cause them diarrhea if they will eat too much oily food.

2021-02-25-055039026.jpg


That's it so far about some little fun facts about my furry family. Our pets could be a mirror of our personalities. If we pamper them with affection and their needs, they will surely pay back to us in their own little ways. They may not be able to speak to us and thanks us, but they will surely love us unconditionally, be loyal to us or even protect us from harm. As I always say, let us be responsible pet owners and take care of our pets 101%.

Love Lots,
@wandergirl ❤️

Location:


Wandergirl
Wandergirl / MC is a combination of three people – an engineer, a blogger and a mom. She is a chemical engineer by profession aiming to provide value to the food industry. She loves to travel, which is what inspired her to start writing, and she now writes about anything her mind wanders off to. Finally, she is a mom – to three naughty but adorable pets: Ginger (a Labrador), Biggie (50% Shih Tzu and 50% hot dog), and Kitty (an adopted stray cat who is also quite the wanderer).

Thank you for dropping by, upvotes and reblogs will truly be appreciated. And more importantly, feel free to comment down below, I’d really like to know your thoughts. Stay curious and stay safe everyone!

author.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency