Hive Pets Community Contest: How Do I Show My Love To My Pets?

Hello Hiveians! To support Hive Pets Community's contest, let me share with you about the topic, "How do I show my love to my pets". Before anything else, let me introduce first my furry family and their stories, namely Biggie, Ginger and Kitty.

How do I Show My Love to My Pets_.png


GINGER
A Gentle Giant


Ginger is the Ate (big sister) to Biggie and Kitty. My father got her two years ago as his retirement buddy without telling me and my mother. At first, my mother and I were hesitant since our house doesn't have much space for pets, especially for big dogs. Eventually, we got fond of her. We just removed some of our things to have enough space for her to roam and play.
Ginger is such a sweet dog and can’t contain her excitement to greet us when we come home. Even if I would go out for a while, when I return, she would still be excited to see me.

petlove1.jpg

In our neighborhood, Ginger is quite famous and well-loved. Kids would stop by to greet and wanted to play with her. They are not afraid of her despite her size. Some neighbors would even baby talk to her as if they are talking to a cute puppy.

petlove2.jpg


BIGGIE
The Chatterbox


Biggie is previously my sister’s puppy. Since she already had 5 doggos in her house she had to give up one. Biggie was named as such by my sister because he is quite big as compared to his siblings. People would get confused since he is much smaller than Ginger.
If not groomed, Biggie really looks like Chewbacca of Starwars. I wanted to name him Chewie instead but I think everyone including Biggie is already used to his name. Can you see the resemblance? 😃

20210226_210930_0000.png

Among my pets, Biggie is the most chatty one. Upon coming home, I can already hear his high-pitched bark from afar. He barks at almost anything - at us when we arrive, his shadow, kids playing, neighbor's dogs and the list goes on.

KITTY
The Dreamer


Kitty had the most heart-warming story. It was last year when we found a litter of kittens in our front yard. They were crying and probably hungry. We brought them inside and let them drink some milk. Afterwards we brought them back outside thinking that their mother might be looking for them. There was a day when I could no longer find the litter at our yard. Their mother transferred them to another location. Days passed when I heard some crying again. But this time, it only comes from one kitten from the same litter that we fed. I wondered where the others could be. Maybe they were adopted by some of our neighbors or worse they didn't survive.

petlove4.jpg

The lone kitten was malnourished emphasizing its pointed little ears. My heart melted as I looked at its sad-looking eyes. Instead of putting it back outside after feeding, we decided to adopt it. Without thinking so much on the name, we just called him Kitty.

petlove5.jpg


Now that you get to know my pets, I have compiled below how we pampered them and show how much we love them.

1. Sleep and cuddles

Dogs and cats (especially the latter) love to sleep. Both Ginger and Biggie love to snooze on our bamboo sofa while Kitty prefers to lie on soft cushions like pillows. Kitty is the most pampered since we allow him to sleep in bed with us.

Ginger and Biggie have only two sleeping positions while Kitty has countless.

petlove6.jpg

petlove7.jpg

petlove8 2.jpg

petlove8 3.jpg

petlove8 1.jpg

2. Play

Once in a while we play with our pets. They also play among themselves. You wouldn't imagine Kitty teasing Ginger to run after him. Ginger is also trying to be gentle in playing with Kitty and Biggie, but there are really times that she can't control her eagerness to play and using her big paws to reach Kitty or Biggie. We just separate them in case play fight becomes too real.


petlove9 2.jpg

petlove9 1.jpg

petlove9 3.jpg

3. Food

Other than pet food and treats, we also give them the same food that we eat (of course choosing only those that are safe for them too). When we give them fish, we also make sure to remove the fine bones before giving to them. I think we spoiled Kitty too since cats naturally know how to eat fish even with the bones intact.

petlove10 2.jpg

petlove10 1.jpg

petlove10 4.jpg

4. Hygiene

During weekends or every other, I make sure to bathe them. Except for Kitty, I only bathe him at least once a month but clean him with wet wipes when he comes home from roaming and playing outside. I am just traumatized with all those scratches I got when I give him a bath. He really hates the water.

petlove11 2.jpg

petlove11 1.jpg

5. Alone time

Everyone needs alone time including pets too. I may not know what's running in their heads when looking out far, but I think they also have that creative imagination. Kitty probably is the most emo. He just stares blankly as if he is in a different dimension. There was really a time wherein I thought he was staring at me. But when I tried to let him blink, he just kept on staring blankly. It was like he was stunned. I just knew that it's normal for cats to sleep sometimes with their eyes wide open.

petlove13.jpg

6 TV Time

Pets could sometimes be couch potatoes. We just let them watch movies and series with us. They also have their favorite shows. Ginger is a fan of Lion King. She becomes too emotional when Simba cried seeing his dead father and whenever hyenas show up. Kitty is more on the sporty side. He loves to watch basketball and even wants to block some shots. Biggie on the other hand, likes dog vlogs and funny videos. Especially when there are some barking and howling, he also wanted to bark back.

petlove12 2.jpg

petlove12 1.jpg

petlove14 1.jpg

petlove14 2.jpg


Our pets may not be able to speak to us and tell us how much they appreciate all the good things and pampering done to them. Just by looking through their mellow eyes and their ecstatic gestures when they see us, it's already their way on showing their love for us. I hope pet owners will continue to love their pets through sickness and in health. Like in any relationship, having a pet is a commitment that we choose to take and should be nurtured. So for those who are planning to adopt or buy some pets, make sure you are ready to take care of them 101% and be responsible pet owners.
Love Lots,
@wandergirl ❤️

Credits: Canva.com for the Chewbacca photo and design templates

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency