Meet Totie Marie

A new addition to my growing family entered into our lives a month ago. It's a she, and she's a shih tzu-chihuahua mixed. Her mom is the Shih Tzu and her dad is the Chihuahua.

IMG_20240623_142925.jpg

I named her Totie Marie and sometimes called her Morie in short. Her name was inspired by her size, she's so small that we could easily fit into a tote bag. Although sometimes people are confused that her name came from the character in the movie Four Sisters and a Wedding it's not. Hahaha.

Anyway, let me take you back to how a conversation with my friend led her to give me a pup. It was a sunny day that time when I saw a similar face in front of my dorm, it was my friend, Murl. I asked her where she was headed and told me that she was waiting for her friends. I told her that she could stay in my room while waiting for them. One conversation led to another when I brought up the topic that our friend's Chihuahua looked so similar to her Chihuahua. I knew that it came from her and at that time, I thought that she sold it to him but then she gave it to me and told me that she just gave it for free. And so I told her that if ever her dog gets pregnant again, I'd be willing to adopt. Who does want to be a Chihuahua parent, right? And then she told me that Peanut, her dog, might be pregnant.

IMG_20240306_222826_0039.jpg

Look at that proud Mama! Two days of labor and Totie Marie is already out!

Fast forward to when Peanut has already given birth to Totie Marie. She was the only pup this time. I thought my friend would not give her away because she was the only pup but she was also worried because originally I wanted a male pup and she thought that I might not take her. But since there was only one pup and it turned out to be a female, I already gave in.

received_2572186882952336.jpeg

received_2324166664582077.jpeg

Weeks have passed. Our lines have remained open to each other and my friend kept on sending me photos for updates.

Some of my friends thought that she was a corgi because of her fur and the look of her entire body. Hahaha.

Messenger_creation_a804264e-860e-467c-a7b3-32499bdc6f76.jpeg

She's a silly energetic little pup. I wonder where she gets all of her energy from. Lol.

received_781235163966229.jpeg

Photo update from my friend when she brought Totie Marie for a vet visit. This time, she got her first shot of 5 in 1 vaccine. We agreed that I'd be the one paying for it and I just sent her money. Totie Marie just looks so adorable! One of my friend's students even wanted to take Totie Marie home. Hahaha!

Messenger_creation_c32c1ab0-63ca-4d1a-8483-e0da113c5405.jpeg

Messenger_creation_eac7e176-b39c-4b6b-a34d-e6aeadd7efff.jpeg

May 4 is a memorable day for me because this was the day when I finally picked up Totie Marie. I picked up Totie Marie at my friend's workplace. I remember I was gushing with so much excitement because finally, I got to bring her home.

IMG_20240504_091009_0885.jpg

After an hour of updating each other with our personal lives. I finally decided to go home because I lived two towns away from my friend. But for memory purposes, we took a selfie. I still couldn't believe that my friend gave me a pup. I wouldn't have imagined that our friendship would be strengthened by this generosity.

As of now, Totie Marie is already fully vaccinated and will turn four months old in a few days. I can't wait to finally get to walk with her outside our house!

#puppy #dog #pet #chihuahua #petparent #petowner #domesticpet #hivepets

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now