Happy 1st Birthday to My Furry Best Friend!

I can still vividly remember the time when my grandfather asked me if I wanted to have a new pet, a puppy. At that time, unsure if it was a serious question or not, I said I was willing to take in another pup and call it my own. And after a few months, we now celebrated Micky's first birthday.

received_223567734050619.jpeg

This was Micky when he was brought into our house. He needed some bathing and brushing to remove all the gunk from him. By this time, he was already showing his unlimited energy to us.

Being not new to taking care of dogs, I thought it going to be a piece of cake. But with this one, it wasn't. When Micky came to us, he was covered with ticks and fleas. First for me, and also the first problem that we overcame.

IMG20231109172212.jpg

Micky's first time getting groomed. The time we had to get his fur cut because of tick and flea infestation.

Micky is an energetic 5-kilogram shih tzu with an unlimited supply of energy. Surely, I was the one getting tired when I was walking him.

IMG_20240420_002618_717.webp

And this was him yesterday, chilling on the couch on his birthday. Such a good boy!
With his unsurmountable energy, came a change in my life. We would go walking every time I had the chance to, even at night! That's how I make sure he would have his walkies when I can. It also made a significant change in my lifestyle which is very beneficial to me. Indeed, it is a win-win situation. He gets his walkies, I get my steps. Both for the benefit of a healthy lifestyle.

His birthday this year is not grand but it was special. I sang a happy birthday song to him. And as a gift to him, I ordered a preventative medicine for his tick and flea prevention. Still, for a better health for him.

I wish Micky better health and a long life. His presence in my life gave me an impact. And I would want him to be still around when I become a Veterinarian one day. The things I do are for them and I want to be able to give a better life to them one day.

My furry best friend's 1st birthday means a lot to me. I know he won't be around as long as a human can be so I am cherishing every moment that I have with him.

Celebrating our pet's birthdays doesn't mean being grand. What matters the most is we remember it and our love for them never goes away rather it should intensify. A simple birthday greeting to them and making them feel special is what matters the most. As long as we make them feel loved, it is the best gift that we can give them.

How about you, how do you celebrate your pet's birthday? Share yours below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now