generosesity blogs ep. 6│Meet our Thirteen Dogs│Part 1: Seven out of Thirteen


437701 = hello!
Four, three, seven, seven, one equal to hello!
Welcome to generosesity blogs ep. 6!

PicsArt_01-26-09.01.10.jpg


“Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole”
- Rodger A. Caras -

Since I was kid, I was never introduced with domestic animals. I only have my brother and some friends in our neighborhood to play with. I was never bored. Every afternoon mom allows me to play outside our house with my friends. We used to play those traditional games for children. My brother, we have five years of age gap. That was a long year, I guess. However, I still managed to play with him. We are only small family, composed of four members. Little did I know that time will come that our family will become bigger and happier.

Seven out of Thirteen

Choco

PicsArt_01-26-09.07.04.jpg

I was fifteen years old at that time when my father came home with a dog. And yes, he is Choco. As a teenager who is busy with school works and personal life, I was not yet interested with him during his few months of staying in our house. Until one day, my he caught my attention. He is so clever. He is an Aspin or “asong pinoy”. Yes, he is still alive and kicking! We put him on a cage because there was an incident that made him wild. He bit one of our neighbors. However, when all dogs are done with peeing and pooping, he can already go out on his cage and stay outside with his tie.

Chiki

PicsArt_01-26-09.04.47.jpg

We consider Chiki as the “mother of all mothers”. She is already six years old like Choco, they just differ in months. Chiki was adopted by mom because she was mesmerized by her cuteness. Sounds funny but yea, most of our thirteen dogs are her offspring! She always got pregnant and when she has a puppy, I always tell my mom to leave at least one puppy because it will serve as a remembrance for us. Thus, we find responsible furparents to adopt the other puppies.

Heart

Heart is the first puppy of Chiki when she got pregnant by our neighbor’s dog after she escaped in our house. Sad to say, the other puppies died after a month because of their health condition. At that time, we did not know what to do when a puppy is sick, and it was too late when we brought them to the veterinarian. Also, Heart already gave birth last December 13, 2021, which I featured in my blog the first month of her puppies!

Buche

PicsArt_01-26-09.06.28.jpg

We adopted Buche when Heart was just a year old. Buche is still a puppy when we adopted her. My mom really has a kind heart because she every time she saw the puppy drinking in the canal, she always told me that “how pitiful”. As a result, I decided to ask our neighbor that I will adopt the puppy and thank goodness our neighbor never hesitated because they could also not take care the puppy anymore. However, as time goes by Buche got wild also. She does not want to share foods with our other dogs. At that time in our old apartment, we don’t tie her because she won’t make fight with Chiki and Heart. But when we moved into this house (where we live right now) she makes fight with the other dogs, especially when Chiki got a puppy again. As a result, we decided to tie her also but no caged her because she has her own place.

Coco

PicsArt_01-26-09.09.01.jpg

When we moved into this house, Chiki already got some puppies. They were four puppies all in all. As time goes by, one puppy doesn’t want to eat, and it seems like she is sick (that’s Coco). We fed her with dextrose powder and after few days, she got her energy back! However, we did not know that her sickness was already caused by parvovirus. This time, all these puppies got infected. As far as I know, parvovirus attacks the immune system of a puppy when the puppy is three months old according to the doctor. Unfortunately, the other three puppies got infected already and they are in dangerous condition. They were tested and the doctor told us that they will all die because the virus will infect all of them, especially they are siblings. Medication has been given, and at that time we can’t afford admitting them to the clinic and the doctor also did not guarantee their safety since their condition is already dangerous. At the end of the day, Coco survived the parvovirus and her other sibling named Gracely. But, sad to say two puppies were sent to heaven and it really broke my heart because they already captured my heart, and they will always have a space in my heart forever.

Gracely

PicsArt_01-26-09.07.49.jpg

Gracely is Coco’s sibling. They are both parvovirus survivor. They also came from Chiki’s offspring. Believe it or not, they Coco and Gracely fight with each other. There was one time that it was only me that was left in our house and at that time, I was about to go to school but suddenly, Coco and Gracely fight each other when they hear a dog crying. When the commotion between the two of them is still on-going, I decided to carry Coco. However, Gracely bit me instead of Coco. I knew it was just an accident because Gracely was really mad at that time, and she really wants to bite Coco. When the fight is over, I realized that my wound was bleeding so, I went to my mom at the market (because she is a meat vendor) and asked for help. She cleaned my wound and of course, I still have the energy to go to school to ask permission to my instructors that I would be absent for days because I need to be injected with anti-rabies (my father insisted that I should be injected even though I knew that our dog don’t have any rabies and she is also vaccinated as well). As a result, we decided to separate the two of them. Gracely now lives on the other part of our house with her son (which you’ll be meeting him soon!), and we tied Coco for safety purposes because we observed that she really wants to start a fight with Gracely.

Black-Black

PicsArt_01-26-09.10.21.jpg

Black-Black is Coco’s daughter. I can say that the most behave award goes to her. She loves to lick you when she wants a belly rub or wants to get your attention. She is playful and will never start a fight with our other dogs. We decided not to let her adopt because she is a sickly dog. However, she is also a survivor. I think she has a strong immune system because she can always fight with the viruses that comes to our house. We don’t know where these viruses came from because our dogs is staying inside out house and never go outside to mingle with the dogs outside. Back to Black-Black, we named him Black-Black because of her hair that is really black. No other shades that mix just pure black. And the texture of her hair is different from our other dogs too! But we never treated her a different, we treat them fairly and equally.

Since you already met our seven dogs, I hope you enjoyed their story! But wait, there’s more. There are still six dogs to be introduced on the next part of this blog and you’ll also meet Gracely and Coco’s sons.
See you on the next part of this blog!

generosesity is a lover of dogs and a furparent too. She loves to explore the world of arts, especially painting. Traveling around the world , diving, and building a dog shelter are on her wishlist.

generosesity blogs.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center