A worrying visit to the vet with “Shira” the kitten of my heart [Eng/Esp]



2.png



Hello dear hivers, and to the beautiful #HivePets community, today I am here to share with you a situation that fills me with anguish.



I am the human mom of Shira, a kitten that came into my life 5 years ago, I have already had the opportunity to present posts of her occurrences here in the community, as well as some photo galleries of my little girl 🐱🐾💕


Those who know me and have had the opportunity to see my content, know that I almost never stopped talking about her, she is present in many of my posts of personal life, crafts, because she is my model and even my assistant michi, since she accompanies me in everything I do. In fact, at this moment writing these lines she is lying on top of me.


I tell you a little, the fact is that a few weeks ago I noticed a small lesion in her mouth on the upper left side, which she herself by insistently licking the area made it bleed a lot on several occasions, seeing this was a sign of alarm for me, she in these 5 years has been characterized by being healthy, I will not deny that she has had some problems of internal parasites, typical in kittens, transitory vomiting because something has gone wrong, some fleas, that although we live in an apartment and she does not go out to make social life outside of it and much less has had contact with other kittens, they have appeared, perhaps because one brings them in the clothes, or they get in here because there is a nearby pet that has them.


Apart from the lip injury, I noticed that he was scratching himself too much, grooming himself more than usual, to the point of pulling out the hair from his tail, his paws and other parts of his body, causing some wounds that became alarming.


1.1.png


Hola queridos hiver y a la bella comunidad de #Hivepets, hoy me encuentro por acá para compartir con ustedes una situación que me llena de angustia.


Soy la mama humana de Shira, una gatita que llego a mi vida hace 5 años, ya he tenido la oportunidad de presentar post de sus ocurrencias por acá en la comunidad, como algunas galerías de fotos de mi chiquita 🐱🐾💕



Los que me conocen y han tenido la oportunidad de ver mi contenido, saben que casi nunca dejó de hablar de ella, está presente en muchos de mis post de vida personal, manualidades, porque ella es mi modelo y hasta mi asistente michi, ya que me acompaña en cada cosa que hago. Es más, en estos momentos escribiendo estas líneas ella esta acostadita encima de mí.


Les cuento un poco, el hecho es que hace algunas semanas note una pequeña lesión en su boquita en la parte superior izquierda, la cual ella misma al lamerse insistentemente la zona hizo que sangrara bastante en varias ocasiones, al ver esto fue un signo de alarma para mí, ella en estos 5 años se ha caracterizado por ser sana, no voy a negar que ha tenido algún problemita de parásitos internos, típico en los gatitos, vómitos transitorios porque algo le haya caído mal, algunas pulguitas, que aunque vivimos en un apartamento y ella no sale a hacer vida social fuera del mismo y mucho menos ha tenido contacto con otros gatitos, han aparecido, quizás porque uno se las traiga en la ropa, o se metan acá porque existe alguna mascotita cercana que las tenga.


Aparte de la lesión en el labio, note que se estaba rascando demasiado, acicalándose más de lo normal, a tal punto de estarse sacando el pelo de la cola, de sus patitas y otras partes del cuerpo, causándose algunas heridas también que llegaron a un punto de tornarse alarmantes.



3.png



I wanted to know what was happening with my girl, it took me a while because I was waiting to have some money, because as you know, this was not going to be free, another thing was that I did not have a kenner to move her, as she is a kitten that does not go out in the street she gets very nervous and it is impossible to carry her, fortunately a neighbor very kindly lent me one.


I found out in a pet store that I have been going to for more than 20 years, it is very close to where I live, and has several veterinarians, the owners of the store know my girl since she was less than 500 grams to my life more than 5 years ago, because there was the first place where I took her, so they could advise me in her care, deworming and those things, there I buy her food, in short, I trust them.



1.1.png

Ya me tocaba tomar medidas al respecto ante que la situación pudiera pasar a mayores, quería saber que estaba sucediendo con mi niña, tarde un poco ya que estaba esperando contar con algo de dinero, porque como bien saben, esto no iba a ser gratuito, otra cosa era que no contaba con un kenner para trasladarla, al ella ser una gatita que no sale a la calle se pone muy nerviosa y es imposible llevarla cargada, afortunadamente una vecina muy amablemente me presto uno.


Averigüe en una tienda de mascotas a la que tengo más de 20 años asistiendo, es muy cercana al sitio donde resido, y cuenta con varios veterinarios, los dueños de la tienda conocen a mi niña desde que llego de menos de 500 gramos a mi vida hace más de 5 años, porque allí fue el primer lugar donde la lleve, para que me asesoraran en su cuidado, desparasitación y esas cosas, allí le compro su alimento, en fin, me genera confianza.



4.png



Although the place is a bit small, over the years it has been conditioned so that the veterinarians can attend to the furry ones relatively comfortably, it even has a public bathroom for kittens.


In the waiting room we ran into some friends, and although my little girl was very nervous and trembling, I took her out of the kennel, she hid in my arms, but after a while she was a little calm, admiring some kittens from a glass wall of the place.


1.1.png


Aunque el sitio es algo pequeño con el pasar de los años lo fueron acondicionando para que los veterinarios puedan atender a los peluditos relativamente cómodos, hasta cuenta con un baño público para gatitos.


En la sala de espera nos topamos con algunos amiguitos, y aunque mi niña estaba muy nerviosa y temblaba, la saque del kenner, se escondía entre mis brazos, pero al rato se quedó un poco tranquila, admirando algunos gatitos desde una pared de cristal del sitio.



5.png



6.png



It was her turn, the doctor checked her thoroughly, he weighed her, I have 6 kilos of love by my side hahaha, he cut her nails, in general he checked her very well for almost 1 hour, by that time he told me that she had a little inflation in her gums (a small gingivitis), and that from what he observed, most likely she was stressed by the fact of having a few fleas, and she could have some allergy to the bite of them, She might also be finishing some flu process, although he listened very well to her breathing, lungs and everything in general, but probably in those details lay the whole problem of the lip injury, scratching, excessive licking and welts on the body that she was generating, and I check her constantly, I have gotten one or two fleas, I always keep an eye on these things.


He indicated me an initial treatment, the first thing to make the effort to place a pipette for cats, there was one that according to finish with the problem if there were some fleas would protect it for a month and a half at a cost of $ 25, another for 3 months at a cost of $ 40, of course I took the determination to place the $ 25 was what my budget for the moment could cover since not only that would be the expense, I bought it and the same Dr. placed it, The consultation was 20$, I sent her an antibiotic to dry the lesion which cost 7$, a prebiotic, 5$, a mouth antiseptic 5$, and a gastric protector 3$, I bought her some food, I give her the nutranuggets, for a total of 70$, it was very difficult but it does not weigh me down, my girl just like any member of the family, deserves to stay healthy and be cared for when she needs it, for that we decided to have her by our side.



1.1.png

Toco su turno, el medico la reviso minuciosamente, la peso, tengo 6 kilos de amor a mi lado jajaja, le corto las uñas, en general la reviso muy bien durante casi 1 hora, para ese momento me dijo que tenía un poco de inflación en las encías (una pequeña gingivitis), y que por lo que el observaba, lo más probable es que estaba estresada por el hecho de tener algunas poquitas pulgas, y podía tener algo de alergia a la picadura de las mismas, que también quizás estaba terminando de pasar algún proceso gripal, aunque el escucho muy bien su respiración, pulmones y todo en general, pero probablemente en esos detalles radicaba todo el problema de la lesión en el labio, el rascado, lamido excesivo y ronchas en el cuerpo que ella se estaba generando, y vaya que yo la reviso constantemente, le he conseguido una o dos pulguitas, siempre vivo pendiente de esas cosas.


Me indico un tratamiento inicial, lo primero hacer el esfuerzo de colocarle una pipeta para gatos, había una que según acabaría con el problema si existían algunas pulguitas la protegería por mes y medio con un costo de 25$, otra por 3 meses con un costo de 40$, por supuesto tome la determinación de que le colocaran la de 25$ era lo que mi presupuesto para el momento podía abarcar ya que no solo ese sería el gasto, la compre y el mismo Dr se la coloco, la consulta fueron 20$, le mando un antibiótico para secar la lesión el cual costo 7$, un prebiótico, 5$, un antiséptico bucal 5$, y un protector gástrico 3$, le compre un poco de comida, le doy la nutranuggets, para un total de 70$, fue muy difícil pero no me pesa, mi niña al igual que cualquier miembro de la familia, merece mantenerse sana y ser atendida cuando lo necesite, para eso decidimos tenerla a nuestro lado.



7.png



Now came the martyrdom of administering the treatment, sometimes the little animals become much worse until a small child, the antibiotic was sent for 5 days and it was in syrup, this little girl really did not cooperate at all, every time I gave it to her, she spit it in my face, on my clothes, salivated, vomited on the floor and I am sure that in all those days she did not absorb almost nothing of what I administered to her.


The pills were a little easier, although I had to be careful because this little girl is so stubborn that at times she would hide the pill under her tongue and when I let go of her mouth she would spit it in my face. The buccal topical was also very difficult for me and I did not clean her properly, besides I did not ask the Dr. how to do it, the topical had to be applied on the gum, all over the mouth and especially on the lesion.


Well the days passed, and the treatment did not work as we expected, although the lesion in the mouth was drier, it remained there and I observed that she had another minimal on the other lip, the scratching and excessive licking, improved a lot as well as the lesions that she had done many were gone, but inside her body there were other minimal ones, I think it is unfair that I paid 25$ for a pipette and she did not have any visible flea colony, because the same doctor checked her and those of us who have pets know that this is something notorious for the excrement and even so after 10 days of being placed she got a flea.


To make all this catharsis a little more summarized, the vet asked me for photos of the lesion on the lip, and when he saw it he advised me to take her as soon as possible.



1.1.png

Ahora venía el martirio de la administración del tratamiento, a veces los animalitos se tornan mucho peor hasta que un niño pequeño, el antibiótico se lo mandaron por 5 días y era en jarabe, esta chiquita la verdad no coopero para nada, cada vez que se lo daba, me lo escupía en la cara, en la ropa, salivaba, vomitaba en piso y estoy segura que en todos esos días no absorbió casi nada de lo que le administraba.


Las pastillas fueron un poco más fáciles, aunque tenía que estar pendiente porque esta niña es tan terca que en momentos se escondía la pastilla debajo de le lengua y cuando le soltaba la boquita la escupía en mi cara. El tópico bucal también me fue bien difícil y no le hice la limpieza como era debido, aparte que peque en no preguntarle bien al Dr. como hacerlo, ese tópico había que aplicarlo en la encía, por toda la boquita y en especial en la lesión.


Pues pasaron los días, y el tratamiento no resulto como esperábamos, aunque la lesión en la boca estaba más seca, allí permanecía y observe que tenía otra mínima en el otro labio, el rascado y lamido excesivo, mejoro mucho al igual que las lesiones que ella se había hecho muchas ya no estaban, pero dentro de su cuerpo habían otras mínimas, aparte la revise y le encontré una pulga, me parece injusto que haya pagado 25$ por una pipeta y que ella no tenía visiblemente ninguna colonia de pulgas, porque el mismo medico la reviso y los que tenemos mascotas sabemos que eso es algo notorio por el excremento y aun así después de 10 días de colocada le haya conseguido una pulga.


Para hacerle toda esta catarsis un poco más resumida, el veterinario me pidió fotos de la lesión en el labio, y al ver me aconsejo llevarla lo antes posible.



8.png



I took her again on Saturday July 15, I told her about the antibiotic and this time I sent her one for 10 days in tablets, this way I will be more sure that she absorbs it, I send her an antiallergic one daily for 7 days and continue administering all the other medicines that I sent her before in a continuous way. This time I had to buy the antibiotic, the prebiotic and the antiallergic, for a total of 8$.



1.1.png

La lleve nuevamente el día sábado 15 de julio, le conté lo del antibiótico y en esta oportunidad le mando uno por 10 días en tabletas, de esta manera estaré más segura de que la absorba, le mando antialérgico uno diario por 7 días y seguir administrando todos los demás medicamentos que le mando con anterioridad de manera continua. Tuve en esta oportunidad que comprar el antibiótico, el prebiótico y el antialérgico, para un total de 8$.



9.png



With respect to the cleaning now if I had to do it properly, 3 times a day, the Dr. very kindly taught me how to do it and the surprising thing is that with it she was totally still, the doctor spoke for her and said "that human mother is defaming me look how calm I am", ay to see no? Hahahaha.


In the same way he told me to try it at home and if she didn't let him, he would take her every day at the end of the afternoon for him to do it. Fortunately I am succeeding and although I have a thousand alarms on my phone for the amount of medications I have to give her, this time she is behaving better and is letting me do the cleanings, not like the Dr. but I am succeeding.



1.1.png

Con respecto a la limpieza ahora si debía hacerla como es debido, 3 veces al dia, el Dr muy amablemente me enseño como hacerlo y lo sorprendente es que con el ella se quedó totalmente quieta, el médico hablo por ella y decía “esa mama humana me está difamando mira como soy yo de tranquila”, ay que ver no?? Jajjaja.


De igual manera él me dijo que lo intentara en casa y si ella no se dejaba, se la llevara todos los días al final de la tarde para el hacerla. Afortunadamente lo estoy logrando y aunque tengo mil alarmas en el teléfono para la cantidad de medicamentos que debo administrarle, ella esta vez se está portando mejor y me está dejando hacerle las limpiezas, no como el Dr. pero si lo estoy logrando.



10.png



1gifts.gif



Now comes the point of my concern, since the Dr. told me that he had to paint me all the possible scenarios, he told me that in case this treatment did not work, the lesion did not disappear completely and seeing that he had another minimal one, that he would have to do a leukemia test and if it was positive, he would have to do a biopsy since his lesion could be a carcinoma that would be treatable only with chemotherapy.


You can imagine my reaction when I heard that, I want to erase that from my mind because I don't even have the economic means to face something like that, and I don't even know the strength, of course he told me that it was just a scenario and he should tell me, but that at this moment for me is unthinkable, my girl I am sure that she just didn't absorb the other antibiotic as she should since she was spitting it out and vomiting.


Today we are just starting the second day of the new treatment, I am doing everything to the letter, with the confidence that my little girl's lesion will disappear, and that it was just an allergy, stress, or some other simpler process as he pointed out to me at first. Besides, she is still the same, she hasn't had any mood swings or downturns, she talks to me all day long, she even gossips with me, she eats normally, she is still a glutton, she runs around the house with a lot of energy, she almost hits the ceiling.


Many know how much I love my girl, there are people who ask not to humanize pets, but I'm sorry, she is part of my life, my family, my company, she has given me bites yes, but more love than anything else, I love her with all my soul, and I ask you to accompany me with good wishes and the best of good vibes, so that this story or catharsis that I brought you today, comes in a new part with a happy ending. I will not deny that it generated some stress and anxiety for me to make this post, since I like to show how beautiful my kitty is, her poses, her occurrences, but at the same time I felt relieved to share these words and what is happening with all of you who are my family.

I love you my Shira, my girl, and I know everything will be fine... 🐱🐾💕

Thanks for reading, see you next time.


1.1.png


Ahora viene el punto de mi preocupación, ya que el Dr. me dijo que debía pintarme todos los escenarios posibles, me comento que en dado caso que este tratamiento no funcionara, no despareciera la lesión por completo y viendo que tenía otra mínima, que habría que hacerle un test de leucemia y que, de ser positivo, tendría que hacer una biopsia ya que su lesión podría ser un carcinoma que sería tratable solo con quimioterapia.


Se podrán imaginar mi reacción al escuchar eso, quiero borrar eso de mi mente porque ni los medios económicos tendría para afrontar algo así, y la fortaleza ni lo sé, claro él me dijo que solo era un escenario y debía decírmelo, pero eso en este momento para mi es impensable, mi niña estoy segura que simplemente no absorbió como es debido el otro antibiótico ya que lo escupía y vomitaba.


Hoy apenas vamos a empezar el segundo día del nuevo tratamiento, todo lo estoy haciendo al pie de la letra, con la confianza de que a mi chiquita se le desaparecerá esa lesión, y que solo era una alergia, estrés, o algún otro proceso más simple como el me lo señalo en un primer momento. Además, ella sigue siendo la misma, no ha tenido ningún cambio de humor ni decaimientos, habla todo el día conmigo me mete hasta chismes, come normal sigue siendo una glotona, corre por toda la casa con mucha energía casi pega del techo.


Muchos saben cuánto amo a mi niña, hay personas que piden no humanizar a las mascotas, pero lo siento, ella es parte de mi vida, de mi familia, mi compañía, me ha dado mordiscos sí, pero más amor que otra cosa, la amo con toda mi alma, y les pido me acompañen con buenos deseos y la mejor de las buenas vibras, para que esta historia o catarsis que les traje hoy, venga en una nueva parte con un final feliz. No voy a negar que me genero algo de stress y ansiedad hacer este post, ya que a mí me gusta mostrar lo hermoso de mi gatita, sus poses, ocurrencias, pero a la vez me sentí desahogada por compartir estas palabras y lo que está sucediendo con todos ustedes que son mi familia.

Te amo mi Shira, mi niña, y yo sé que todo saldrá bien… 🐱🐾💕

Gracias por leerme, nos vemos en la próxima.



11.png



All photos used in this post are of my authorship and have been taken on my personal cell phone a Redmi 9T and edited in Canva

Banner and separator made by me in Canva

Translated with the help of DeepL


1.1.png


Todas las fotos usadas en este post son de mi autoría y han sido sacadas en mi celular personal un Redmi 9T y editadas Canva

Banner y separador hecho por mí en Canva

Traducido con la ayuda de DeepL


Bannerdayadam.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center