When you lose your best friend [ENG-ESP]

FB_IMG_1695546909020.jpg

Vicky came to my life when I was eleven years old. She was black with a tiny white dot on her back, she was a mix of poodle with who-knows-what. I remember how surprised I was when she turned grey a few months later.

My aunt's dog had scaped and came back giving birth to an unwanted litter of puppies, but for me that little bundle of joy was my dream come true because during all my childhood I had asked my mom to let me have a pet and I finally had her.

Vicky llegó a mi vida cuando yo tenía once años. Era negrita con una pequeña mancha blanca en el lomo, una mezcla de poodle con no se que . Recuerdo lo sorprendida que quedé cuando se volvió gris unos meses luego.

La perrita de mi tía se había escapado y había llegado dando a luz una camada no deseada, pero para mí esa pequeña motita de alegría era mi sueño hecho realidad pues durante toda mi infancia había pedido incansablemente a mi mamá tener una mascota y finalmente la tenía.

FB_IMG_1695546744649.jpg

She loved playing hide and seek, my sister used to hide and she would wait patiently until someone yelled "call Vicky" and she would run looking for her. She really enjoyed running, even as she grew old and we would laugh when we went to the parking lot and she seemed to rejuvenate because at the sight of the open space she'd go nuts running.

She slept under my bed, despite me trying with all my might to make her sleep with me, she never liked the sensation of being on furniture, she liked being hidden under.

Le gustaba mucho jugar a las escondidas, mi hermana se escondía y ella esperaba pacientemente a que alguien dijera "llamen a Vicky" y salía corriendo a buscar. Le gustaba mucho correr, incluso en su vejez nos causaba mucha risa cuando bajabamos al estacionamiento y al ver el espacio abierto parecía rejuvenecer instantáneamente pues empezaba a correr como loca.

Dormía bajo mi cama, a pesar de mía esfuerzos porque durmiera conmigo, nunca le gustó la sensación de estar sobre un mueble, prefería estar debajo.

FB_IMG_1695546886394.jpg

She used to wake me up every morning, she got out of her spot under my bed and hit my bgd with her paws until I woke up and sit on the floor to play for a while before I started my daily routine. She accompanied me to have breakfast and stayed by the door when I left.

I really miss opening the door and have her greeting me with all the happiness that tiny six kilo body could fit. My eyes get all teary by just typing that last part, still to this day I feel she's going to come out when I get home.

Todas las mañanas me despertaba ella, salía de debajo de mi cama y golpeaba mi cama con sus patitas hasta que yo me levantaba y me sentaba en el suelo a jugar un rato antes de empezar mi rutina diaria. Me acompañaba a desayunar y se quedaba en la puerta cuando me iba.

Extraño mucho abrir la puerta y que ella me recibiera con toda la felicidad que cabía en su pequeño cuerpo de seis kilos. Los ojos se me llenan de lágrimas escribiendo esto último, aún ahora cuando llego a casa siento como si ella fuera a salir a recibirme.

FB_IMG_1695546717105.jpg

When I decided leaving the country the hardest part was separating from her, because my family would know my whereabouts but she would just stop seeing me. She was seventeen already and her health was not the same. She had lost a bunch of teeth, a few years back she had a surgery and was having asthma attacks quite frequently.

One night some months later I got the call I was more afraid of, Vicky was gone... and I was not there. Her health had declined even further, she had been having seizures and in one of those episodes her body gave up.

Cuando decidí irme del país lo más difícil fue separarme de Vicky, pues mi familia sabia donde estaría pero para ella simplemente dejaría de estar allí. Ella ya tenía diecisiete años y su salud no era la misma. Ya había perdido unos cuantos dientes, un par de años atrás había tenido que someterse a una cirugía y estaba teniendo ataques de asma cada vez más frecuentes.

Unos meses más tarde llegó la noche en qué recibí la llamada que más temía, Vicky había partido... y yo no estuve allí. Su salud se había complicado aún más, había estado convulsionando y en uno de esos episodios se fue.

IMG_20230924_161500.jpg

The guilt for not being there is still within me. She was there for me in happiness and the har times, she watched me laugh and cry so many times, she offered her love all of her life and I wasn't there when she passed. I felt my world collapsing, my dream of taking her with me was gone. Everything was gone.

Vicky lived eighteen years, my friends used to say she was immortal. Sometimes we would jokingly say that she slept under my bed to secretly steak my youth because I would wake up sore all the time while she would wake all happy and vibrant. She was with me for so long that I struggle getting used to not having her with me.

La culpa por haberme ido aún me acompaña. Ella que estuvo en mis alegrías y en mis momentos más difíciles, que me vio reír y llorar tantas veces, que me ofreció su amor toda su vida y yo no estuve cuando partió. Sentía que mi mundo se me hacía añicos, mi sueño de buscarla y llevarla conmigo. Todo se volvió nada.

Vicky vivió dieciocho años, mis amigos siempre decían que era inmortal. A veces bromeábamos diciendo que dormía bajo mi cama para robarme vitalidad porque yo siempre amanecía adolorida y ella radiante y feliz. Estuvo conmigo tantos años que acostumbrarme a vivir sin ella ha sido un desafio.

IMG_20230924_161339.jpg

Recently an old friend from my teenage years texted me and he immediately asked for her. Even now I feel as if she's going to run to me when I open a cookie envelope, and I smile imagining the sound her little nails used to make when she ran.

I came back to my country recently and my mom handed me her tag and a bit of fur taken from her brush that I keep as my treasure, and she said: "the say that when someone dies with their eyes open is because they wanted to see somebody, and I feel that Vicky really wanted to see you".

Hace poco me escribió un amigo de la adolescencia y lo primero que hizo fue preguntar por ella. Incluso aún siento que al destapar una galleta va a venir corriendo a pedirme un poco, y sonrío imaginando el sonido que hacían sus uñitas al correr.

Regrese a mi país recientemente y mi mamá me dió su plaquita y un poco de pelitos que yo conservo como un tesoro, me dijo: "dicen que si una persona muere con los ojos abiertos es porque deseaba ver a alguien, y yo siento que Vicky quería verte a ti".

IMG_20230925_105220.jpg

Thank you for your love, my Vicky, for teaching me so much. For being my company when even I wouldn't want to be with myself. For your joy, your bad breath in the morning. Thank you for being the best companion in the world my beautiful baby. I hope wherever you are you can forgive me for having left, and I hope there is chocolate and you can eat it...

Gracias por tu amor, mi Vicky, por enseñarme tantas cosas. Por acompañarme cuando ni yo misma quería estar conmigo. Por tu alegría, por tu mal aliento en las mañanas. Gracias por ser la mejor compañera del mundo mi bebita hermosa. Espero que dónde estés me perdones por haberme ido, y que ojalá allá exista el chocolate y lo puedas comer...

IMG-20230916-WA0028.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center