Missing meows (Based on true events)/Maullidos perdidos (Basado en hechos reales)

English

I was about 19 years old and was studying at the home of one of my college classmates. At the end of the day I decided to walk back home because my classmate's house was nearby. To get to the university I had to walk through a small jungle-like area next to a very busy avenue that, depending on the time of day, I had to run to avoid an accident.

The route was quiet and I had already taken it several times but this time something unexpected happened, because I found a kitten and it was a kitten that did not trust people, so logically it moved away from anyone who approached it. As I entered the lot and advanced a little I noticed the kitten because it moved away from me and I didn't think much of it until it got on the road to the exit of the lot that led directly to the avenue.

I stopped because I realized that by moving in that direction he would also flee towards the avenue. I called out to him and tried to lure him in various ways because I was sure that if the kitten kept going something bad was going to happen to him. Nothing worked so I tried to move very slowly towards him which for a few steps seemed to work but about 5 steps later the kitten ran away towards the avenue. Unfortunately at that moment it was night time and many cars were passing by. As I continued moving forward I saw the body of the kitten lying on the avenue, a car had run over it and it had died immediately.

The cars kept passing quickly down the avenue and there was nothing I could do. I went home thinking about what had happened and I felt bad to the point that I couldn't stop thinking about what I could have done to prevent the kitten from not having that tragic end.

A few days later I went back with the study group and the only thing left was the mark on the pavement, there were already many cars that had passed by. At the end of another day of study I returned with my classmates and I heard a faint meowing sound but I could not see where it was from, there was no cat nearby. In the following days every time I passed by I heard meowing, I looked for them to see if it was an abandoned kitten but the times I followed them I got close to the avenue and then they disappeared in the last stretch. Once when I followed them one evening at nightfall and heard them very close I almost fell into the avenue and was almost run over by a truck and because of that scare I decided not to look for them anymore. That time I even felt like something had passed near my leg but when I went back there was nothing.

I decided not to pass by there again for a while and I didn't hear any more of the meowing, but days later I found out that in that very place there had been a traffic accident. A collision between two cars where one of the drivers had lost his life when he hit a tree and the other driver had seen that something had crossed the road and managed to stop in time. Several accidents happened later until the land was cleared and an avenue was built, with several traffic lights because that place became an intersection.

So much for my account of this event that adds up to several experiences out of the ordinary and although it is not an urban legend I wanted to share it because unlike other better known stories, I can give you details because it was what happened to me. Thank you very much for reading and if you want leave a like and share. See you soon and watch out for cats.

All photos were taken and edited with my Xiaomi RedMi 11 cell phone.
Separator (Beta version) made in Canva.
Resources used DeepL translator.

Español

Tendría unos 19 años y estaba estudiando en casa de uno de mis compañeros de curso de la universidad. Finalizada la jornada decidí regresar caminando a mi casa de estudios debido a que la casa de mi compañero quedaba cerca. Para llegar a la universidad caminando había que atravesar un terreno como si fuese una pequeña selva que quedaba al lado de una avenida muy concurrida que, dependiendo de la hora, había que correr para no tener un accidente.

La ruta era tranquila y ya la había tomado varias veces pero está vez pasó algo inesperado, pues encontré un gatito y era un gatito que no confiaba en las personas, por lo que lógicamente se alejaba de cualquiera que se le acercara. Al entrar en el terreno y avanzar un poco me di cuenta del gatito porque se alejó de mí y no le di mucha importancia hasta que se puso en la ruta hacia la salida del terreno que daba directamente hacia la avenida.

Me detuve porque me di cuenta que al avanzar en esa dirección él también lo haría huyendo hacia la avenida. Lo llamé e intenté atraerlo de varias formas porque estaba seguro que si el gatito seguía avanzando algo malo le iba a pasar. Nada funcionó así que intenté moverme muy lentamente hacia él cosa que por unos pasos pareció funcionar pero unos 5 pasos después el gatito salió corriendo hacia la avenida. Desgraciadamente en ese momento era la hora de noche y pasaban muchos carros. Al seguir avanzando vi el cuerpo del gatito tirado en la avenida, un carro lo había atropellado y había muerto inmediatamente.

Los carros seguían pasando rápidamente por la avenida y no pude hacer nada. Me fui a casa pensando en lo que había pasado y me sentí mal al punto que no dejaba de pensar lo que podría haber hecho para evitar que el gatito no tuviera ese trágico final.

A los días volví a pasar de regreso con el grupo de estudio y solo quedaba la marca en el pavimento, ya eran muchos los carros que habrían pasado por allí. Al finalizar otra jornada de estudio regresé con los compañeros y escuché un maullido tenue pero no podía ver de donde era, no había ningún gato cerca. En los siguientes días cada vez que pasaba escuchaba maullidos, los busqué para saber si era algún gatito abandonado pero las veces que los seguía me acercaban a la avenida para luego desaparecer en el último tramo. Una vez al seguirlos una tarde ya cayendo la noche y escucharlos muy cerca casi caigo en la avenida y por poco me atropella una camioneta y debido a ese susto decidí no buscar más. Esa vez incluso sentí como algo había pasado cerca de mi pierna pero al regresar no había nada.

Decidí no volver a pasar por allí un tiempo y no supe más de los maullidos pero días después supe que en ese justo lugar había ocurrido un accidente de tránsito. Un choque entre dos carros donde uno de los choferes había perdido la vida al chocar contra un árbol y el otro chofer había visto que algo se había atravesado por la carretera y alcanzó a frenar a tiempo. Varios accidentes pasaron luego hasta que limpiaron ese terreno y se construyó una avenida, con varios semáforos porque ese lugar se convirtió en un cruce.

Hasta aquí llega mi relato de este hecho que se suma a varias experiencias fuera de lo normal y aunque no es una leyenda urbana quise compartirlo porque a diferencia de otros relatos más conocidos, puedo darles detalles porque fue lo que me pasó. Muchas gracias por leer y si quieres deja un me gusta y compartir. Hasta pronto y cuidado con los gatos.

Todas las fotos fueron tomadas y editadas con mi celular Xiaomi RedMi 11.
Separador (Versión Beta) hecho en Canva.
Recursos usados traductor DeepL.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now